Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Using SilverFast 8 HDR Studio for RGB editing  (Read 1030 times)

saiguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
Using SilverFast 8 HDR Studio for RGB editing
« on: January 22, 2018, 05:12:20 PM »

I was sent a 5.2mb jpeg from a Canon EOS. It had color balance issues and I wondered if it could be worked on in SF8-HDR. All the tools worked very well. Exported as 16bit tif. File size now 67.2mb without up scaling. Zooming into it in PS showed no jpeg artifacts in the smooth background.

Any thoughts, comments or cautions?
Logged

Mark D Segal

  • Contributor
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11621
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Using SilverFast 8 HDR Studio for RGB editing
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2018, 05:16:40 PM »

Not really - it's a good application and performs well. SF8 colour balance tools in particular are very good.
Logged
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....."

saiguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
Re: Using SilverFast 8 HDR Studio for RGB editing
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2018, 11:50:36 PM »

Can an 8bit jpeg be output from SF8 as a real 16bit tiff? If so could PS do it as well?
Logged

DP

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 305
Re: Using SilverFast 8 HDR Studio for RGB editing
« Reply #3 on: January 23, 2018, 07:46:37 AM »

Can an 8bit jpeg be output from SF8 as a real 16bit tiff? If so could PS do it as well?

more so - you can get a 1bit image in PS and output as 32bit  ;D ...  ponzi !
Logged

TonyW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 482
Re: Using SilverFast 8 HDR Studio for RGB editing
« Reply #4 on: January 23, 2018, 10:54:28 AM »

Can an 8bit jpeg be output from SF8 as a real 16bit tiff? If so could PS do it as well?
Not really useful as far as original image data goes if you have 8 bit data you are stuck with it even within a 16 bit container. 
Logged

saiguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 153
Re: Using SilverFast 8 HDR Studio for RGB editing
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2018, 01:31:47 PM »

Thanks Tony.  So it would be useless unless you happen to like 12x file size increase?
Logged

TonyW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 482
Re: Using SilverFast 8 HDR Studio for RGB editing
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2018, 02:01:40 PM »

Thanks Tony.  So it would be useless unless you happen to like 12x file size increase?
Only useless as far as not actually changing the 8 bit data as you cannot make it the same as a normal 16 bit capture, in other words you may consider it a voodoo move. 

If you are cutting and pasting into a 16 bit document (compositing) or producing computer generated graphics (gradients etc) or really going to push the data then you may have some advantage
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up