Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Fat Pixels  (Read 12524 times)

ron lacy

Fat Pixels
« on: January 12, 2018, 05:04:04 pm »

I am not very knowledgable about digital backs but have always lusted for one because of the quality images I see posted here and elsewhere.  I have been a hobbyist for 45 years and have shot Nikon and Fuji digital for the past 15 years.  However, as I said earlier I really have a desire for a MF camera with a digital back.  I continue to read about the "fat pixel" backs.  Can someone explain to me what that means and what advantage would that have to a landscape photographer like me?  I hear this comment about the Phase One P30+.  I am currently looking at one and am close to making an offer but really want to understand what the fat pixel thing in about and why that might be important to me.

Any info you can share would be appreciated.

Thanks
Ron

BernardLanguillier

• http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Re: Fat Pixels
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2018, 05:27:59 pm »

Frankly, in my view you’d be better off with a a7rIII or D850.

If you really want to go MF at least go for a P45+ with a decently sized sensor, although Erik may talk you out or it also... ;)

Cheers,
Bernard

douglevy

• New England Wedding Photographer Doug Levy
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2018, 05:44:56 pm »

Agree with Bernard. I've shot those p+ backs, and owned a D810 and now 850. The 850 beats any back I've used from the P+ generation almost across the board. The lenses are obvs better with the phase/hassy and leaf shutters, but at the moment I'd take my 850 over anything but the IQ/Credo series backs (and I own a Credo 60).

siddhaarta

« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2018, 08:35:23 pm »

There is a long thread here:

Fat Pixels

Worthwhile reading and it should answer your questions or at least increase your confusion :)