Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..  (Read 8537 times)

Michael West

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1428

why  isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..is it!

I like to be able
io use local adjustments Inside Photoshop CC 2018  but it doesnt appear that thats possible

have I missed a left or right turn along the way??
Logged

kirkt

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 604
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2017, 07:45:11 pm »

Filter > Camera Raw Filter
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20589
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2017, 08:31:04 pm »

Filter > Camera Raw Filter
Indeed; just not for raw documents.
Michael, are you shooting raw OR you want to use ACR on existing rendered images? That's possible but if you're starting with raw, do all the work possible there rather than later using ACR as a filter.
Logged
http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author "Color Management for Photographers".

DougDolde

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 188
    • Images of the American West
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2017, 09:00:50 pm »

whats the confusion?  just open the raw file in Photoshop and you're automatically in ACR. Same functionality as LR with a different menu system
Logged

langier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1499
    • Celebrating Rural America, the Balkans and beyond
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2017, 09:09:59 am »

Most of the functions of ACR are available in CC2018 and I think as far back as CS6 by looking under the Filter Menu for the Camera Raw filter.

I'll sometimes use this on a snap from my iPhone to craft my image better.
Logged
Larry Angier
ASMP, ACT, & many more! @sacred_icons
https://angier-fox.photoshelter.com

adias

  • Guest
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2017, 08:08:29 pm »

The Develop panel of Lr which is 99% of Lr for most users is fully available in ACR in PS. With the advantage that one can Open the file in PS for further bit processing, especially with specialty filters such as FocusMagic.
Logged

MichaelEzra

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1146
    • https://www.michaelezra.com
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2018, 09:24:34 am »

Just updated to latest ACR and Photoshop CC 2018 - suddenly cannot open ACR within photoshop, it was working before the update..
Logged

kirkt

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 604
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2018, 09:46:04 am »

See: https://forums.adobe.com/thread/2451553

Someone in another forum brought this up and suggested:

Quote
For RAW files the workaround is to leave PS closed and use a right click to open the file. To use the plug-in, go to Preferences/Camera Raw immediately after opening PS. No preference changes are needed.

I am not exactly sure what this means, but maybe you can interpret it and try this suggested workaround.  Maybe similar to the workaround discussed here:

https://feedback.photoshop.com/photoshop_family/topics/camera-raw-10-2-filter-incompatible-with-ps-cc2018-19-1-1?topic-reply-list%5Bsettings%5D%5Bfilter_by%5D=all

bummer,

kirk
« Last Edit: February 14, 2018, 11:27:38 am by kirkt »
Logged

MichaelEzra

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1146
    • https://www.michaelezra.com
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2018, 10:00:04 am »

PROBLEM SOLVED:

Delete this file: C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Plug-Ins\CC\File Formats\Camera Raw.8bi

Install version 10.1: http://download.adobe.com/pub/adobe/photoshop/cameraraw/win/10.x/CameraRaw_10_1_win.zip
Logged

Peter McLennan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4690
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2018, 11:09:55 am »

So, we should delay updating LR Classic until Adobe fixes this?
Logged

TonyW

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 643
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2018, 10:44:49 am »

So, we should delay updating LR Classic until Adobe fixes this?
LR Classic and Photoshop CC 2018 updated fine to ACR 10.2 Windows 10.
Logged

Peter McLennan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4690
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2018, 12:30:27 pm »

Thanks, Tony.  Upgrading now.
Logged

rambler44

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 116

For getting images from Lightroom or Photoshop, try opening your images as Smart Objects.   In the latest Photoshop CC, one cqn get back into ACR from the Filter drop-down.
Logged

Lsgrn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1

It is; yet, I suggest going to ACR from Lightroom CC Classic Photo> Edit in > Open as a smart object in photoshop. This gives the most flexibility.  Click on the image in the layers panel to go to ACR.  Hope this helps.
Logged

kpz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 63
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #14 on: November 27, 2018, 03:36:53 am »

Indeed; just not for raw documents.
Michael, are you shooting raw OR you want to use ACR on existing rendered images? That's possible but if you're starting with raw, do all the work possible there rather than later using ACR as a filter.

What exactly happens when exporting from ACR to PS, then going back to apply a filter? My impression is that PS is solely a pixel-level editor, so exporting ACR to PS is essentially no different than saving the file as a TIFF file in ACR then opening that file in PS. And then applying ACR filters is just like applying ACR to TIFFs/JPEGS, that is, when coming from PS one cannot use the full power of the RAW data. Is this right?
Logged

mcbroomf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1529
    • Mike Broomfield
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #15 on: November 27, 2018, 06:22:13 am »

As long as you open the file as a smart object (selected from the Workflow option in ACR) you can re-open ACR with previous ACR edits visible (ie sliders etc) by double clicking the thumbnail in the layer palette.  If you select the ACR filter the initial ACR edits are not there but the changes you make stored in a Smart filter and can be (re-)edited.
Logged

kpz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 63
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #16 on: November 27, 2018, 01:21:32 pm »

Thanks. That deals with one end. Regarding the other, if I edit some image in Lightroom and then

1) click the "export to photoshop" button, make local adjustments in photoshop, sharpen, and then save as 16-bit TIFF,

or

2) export as 16-bit TIFF in Lightroom (no output sharpening), open in PS, make the same local adjustments, sharpen with the same settings, and then save as 16-bit TIFF,

will there be any difference in the two output files? I'm wondering about the technical details of what actually happens when one "exports to PS," since PS doesn't seem to be able to natively read raw image data.
Logged

mcbroomf

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1529
    • Mike Broomfield
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #17 on: November 27, 2018, 01:31:35 pm »

Well given that no-one knows what edits or settings will be used except you (and these will change from image to image I suspect) then I think it's probably best that you do the test yourself on one of your photos and critically examine the 2 outputs to see if, 1) you can see a difference and 2) if there is one, does it matter at your typical viewing/print size and distances.
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20589
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: why isnt camera raw functionaiity available from within photoshop or..
« Reply #18 on: November 27, 2018, 02:07:21 pm »

What exactly happens when exporting from ACR to PS, then going back to apply a filter? My impression is that PS is solely a pixel-level editor, so exporting ACR to PS is essentially no different than saving the file as a TIFF file in ACR then opening that file in PS. And then applying ACR filters is just like applying ACR to TIFFs/JPEGS, that is, when coming from PS one cannot use the full power of the RAW data. Is this right?
Yes, you can open a TIFF (or PSD, JPEG) in ACR the plug in if you first select the document type as 'Camera Raw":
As to the 'differences' using ACR as a filter or as the plug-in, not sure. With the plug-in, all processing takes place in high bit, ProPhoto RGB linear gamma processing but as a filter? It might all take place in the native bit-depth and color space.
Logged
http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author "Color Management for Photographers".
Pages: [1]   Go Up