Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: High Sierra - Profiling the BenQ SW320 - takes ages and ends up in a mess  (Read 2037 times)

macz5024

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • http://www.markuszuber.com

Against my principles I tried upgrading my macOS 10.12.6 to 10.13.1 - after not having heard too many concerns. ;)

It took quite a while until finished but then everything seemed to be fine so far.. Until I wanted to calibrate my BenQ SW320 using Palette Master Element 1.2.5 (latest release).
Whether I tested the i1 Pro or the i1Display Pro, the process took ages (up to 15 minutes) - and up to 3 minutes for each one of the dark grey patches.
The result was not acceptable, which could not only be seen in numbers (mainly problems in the grey axis) but directly on the screen.

So: I really hope that there will be an imrovement on the BenQ software rather soon.
Will keep you posted when there is a solution available.

Btw: the good news: I was able to use Color Navigator on the Eizo CG 303 without any problems - with both devices and 10.13.1.

Logged

Ellis Vener

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2144
    • http://www.ellisvener.com
Re: High Sierra - Profiling the BenQ SW320 - takes ages and ends up in a mess
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2017, 05:09:57 PM »

I have an SW271 and am having the same issues.  BenQ tech support is telling me the issue is with X-rite 's High Sierras compatibility issues  as Palette Master is based on Xrite software.

While it won't solve the Palette Master issue try this work around suggested by Xrite @ https://www.xrite.com/service-support/knownmacosxhighsierra1013issues

The newly created display profile is not being applied to the display at completion. In order to take advantage of your newly created profile, do the following:
Go to System Preferences > Displays > and click on the “Color” tab
Monitor profile will then load
« Last Edit: November 20, 2017, 05:16:06 PM by Ellis Vener »
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14115
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: High Sierra - Profiling the BenQ SW320 - takes ages and ends up in a mess
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2017, 06:37:07 PM »

I have an SW271 and am having the same issues.
Happy to report no such issues with NEC SpectraView software on 10.13.1.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers"

Czornyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1803
    • zarzadzaniebarwa.pl
Re: High Sierra - Profiling the BenQ SW320 - takes ages and ends up in a mess
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2017, 03:35:01 AM »

Happy to report no such issues with NEC SpectraView software on 10.13.1.

Well, well, well, who would have thought?  ;D

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14115
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: High Sierra - Profiling the BenQ SW320 - takes ages and ends up in a mess
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2017, 07:47:26 PM »

Well, well, well, who would have thought?  ;D
To be clear, I'm referring to the US product, not sure how BasICColor, the version provided outside the US behaves.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers"

DougDolde

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 150
    • Images of the American West
Re: High Sierra - Profiling the BenQ SW320 - takes ages and ends up in a mess
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2017, 09:07:55 PM »

This isn't the first time I've heard complaints about the BenQ. Sounds like a brand to avoid
Logged

Czornyj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1803
    • zarzadzaniebarwa.pl
Re: High Sierra - Profiling the BenQ SW320 - takes ages and ends up in a mess
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2017, 04:01:57 AM »

To be clear, I'm referring to the US product, not sure how BasICColor, the version provided outside the US behaves.
The US version (SpectraView II) is the only one that I use. Most reliable hardware calibration software that I ever saw, and the only one with NEC PA specific spectral calibration for i1D3. Thanks God since 3-4years it’s also available in EU.

macz5024

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • http://www.markuszuber.com
Re: High Sierra - Profiling the BenQ SW320 - takes ages and ends up in a mess
« Reply #7 on: December 18, 2017, 05:19:12 AM »

BenQ has just release a new profiling software 1.2.6 which should address this issue. I have switched back to Sierra - but also for ther reasons...
Logged

smahn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 239

BenQ has just release a new profiling software 1.2.6 which should address this issue. I have switched back to Sierra - but also for ther reasons...

I'm not seeing anything more recent than 1.2.5. Can you tell me where to find 1.2.6?
Logged

denalilap

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15

Against my principles I tried upgrading my macOS 10.12.6 to 10.13.1 - after not having heard too many concerns. ;)

It took quite a while until finished but then everything seemed to be fine so far.. Until I wanted to calibrate my BenQ SW320 using Palette Master Element 1.2.5 (latest release).
Whether I tested the i1 Pro or the i1Display Pro, the process took ages (up to 15 minutes) - and up to 3 minutes for each one of the dark grey patches.
The result was not acceptable, which could not only be seen in numbers (mainly problems in the grey axis) but directly on the screen.

So: I really hope that there will be an imrovement on the BenQ software rather soon.
Will keep you posted when there is a solution available.

Btw: the good news: I was able to use Color Navigator on the Eizo CG 303 without any problems - with both devices and 10.13.1.

Not sure if this is the same issue I had but here goes...

I found a webpage (don't have a link at the moment) in which the author mentioned that they were having problems with PME on a 2700 (same as my monitor), in that the validation check failed, mostly on grey scale. The author (TA) said he was using a two monitor setup and that when running PME from his Macs display he had problems. He used the OS X system preferences to move the menu bar at the top of the page to the second display, then reran PME and it worked. I had the same results. Prior to doing this I was getting dE errors of +4, thus validation failed. If I can find the link I will post it.
Logged

macz5024

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • http://www.markuszuber.com

Download of 1.2.7 is now available (two versions: one for above 13.1.1 and one for below 13.1.1) - works nicely here on the 320 and the 2700 for both Sierra and High Sierra
Logged

davidgp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 593
    • davidgp fotografia

Download of 1.2.7 is now available (two versions: one for above 13.1.1 and one for below 13.1.1) - works nicely here on the 320 and the 2700 for both Sierra and High Sierra

Yes, latest version of High Sierra here, with the latests version of BenQ software... it works ok, using i1Display Pro


http://dgpfotografia.com
Pages: [1]   Go Up