Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: D850: Focus tuning UWA lens  (Read 174338 times)

sc_john

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
D850: Focus tuning UWA lens
« on: October 05, 2017, 12:58:15 pm »

Has anyone had success in focus tuning an 18mm/2.8 lens (Zeiss Milvus in this case) on a D850... or D5 or D500 for that matter. I have tried two samples, and could not get either to auto fine tune. I have successfully focus tuned a Nikon 20/1.8 G lens; so I am lost on why process doesn't work on Milvus 18/2.8. I also tried dot-tune method and that wasn't successful, either. TIA for any suggestions or comments.

John
Logged

kers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4393
    • Pieter Kers
Re: D850: Focus tuning UWA lens
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2017, 05:19:00 pm »

Because it is a manual focus lens?
Logged
Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu/la

Paul2660

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4066
    • Photos of Arkansas
Re: D850: Focus tuning UWA lens
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2017, 05:34:24 pm »

I would agree, AF fine tuning will only work on a AF lens. You can't really use the system on a MF lens.  Instead Liveview is your only solution, then marking the lens. 

Paul Caldwell
Logged
Paul Caldwell
Little Rock, Arkansas U.S.
www.photosofarkansas.com

sc_john

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 27
Re: D850: Focus tuning UWA lens
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2017, 05:57:02 pm »

kers and Paul 2660,

Thanks for your responses. It appears you are right... fine tuning for AF lenses only. As they say, RTFMS.

I'll look into "Dot Tune" method, since that supposedly works with MF lenses.

John
Logged

kers

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4393
    • Pieter Kers
Re: D850: Focus tuning UWA lens
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2017, 07:36:55 am »

As I understand the dot has become more critical ( was not very useful) and you have focus peaking in liveview...
I do not have a d850, but you can try out what works best for you.

(I still do not understand why Nikon does not make a dedicated loop to use with liveview... )
Logged
Pieter Kers
www.beeld.nu/la
Pages: [1]   Go Up