Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: digital and analogue cost analysis  (Read 14057 times)

focusgroup

digital and analogue cost analysis
« on: August 15, 2006, 07:36:41 pm »

Hello all

Im a new member although I have been reading posts here for years now.  Here is my question.  

Im a CPA who is also very much a photo enthusiast.  One of my clients is a pro wedding photographer.  I work with him primarily because I love talking about this stuff.  

He is considering purchasing a digital back for his MF kit and has asked me if it is worth the extra cost to switch to digital.

Know seeing as I cant use off the cuff advice I am trying to determine the actual dollar cost excluding (at first) any costs other than negatives.  Meaning digital negatives as opposed to film.  Paper, printing etc, time for processing will be considered later.  

Please tell me if you think this is close to accurate.  Purchasing a P45 approx 34K USD.
At 8.5% for 60 months = $ 690/month (excluding tax) (I know this part is correct)

purchasing and processing approx 20 rolls of 35mm at 36 exposures is approx $ 11 per roll?  I think this is close.  This should be about $ 220 per job.  Therefore the break even is approx 3 weddings per month or 36 jobs per year.  

Total cost is somewhere around $ 7900 for film and processing vs.  $ 8,300 for digital.

The major sticking point is this.  Digital becomes a fixed cost vs film which is variable.  

Any thoughts on my numbers for digital negative vs film would be greatly appreciated.  

Thank you

George

Mark D Segal

• Contributor
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2006, 08:07:54 pm »

This is only the bare beginning of such calculations:

(1) You can't compare the quality and flexibility of working with digital - especially MF - compared with film. It's in a new league.