Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: We are in *evolution* now with inkjet paper, not revolution  (Read 3092 times)

narikin

We are in *evolution* now with inkjet paper, not revolution
« on: January 14, 2017, 10:22:07 pm »

I'm saying this because the Platine paper I've been using for 6+ years have evolved in it's white point quite dramatically, so much so that you can clearly see the change from warm white to a very good clean white.  Quite amazing how they have quietly shifted the brightness of this paper markedly.

I've completely given up on any paper with high OBAs and am really happy to see how they (Felix Schoeller, the main manufacturer) are learning to make their all cotton papers much higher white point, without fluorescent whitening agents. Bravo to them. There really is no excuse for using high OBA papers still, with these great Platines and Baryta's.

It seems unlikely there will be a revolutionary surprise in the coming decade(s), in paper or ink. What there is now is a maturing market that step by step quietly evolves forward, to a point where we have papers and inks much improved from just 5 years ago, without fanfare or noise: all cottons with higher white points and inksets without weak links (Goodbye to Epson's old Yellow!).

HSakols

• Hugh Sakols Photography
Re: We are in *evolution* now with inkjet paper, not revolution
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2017, 08:19:35 am »

Yes there are so many more flavors to choose from.  I've been sending my friends boxes of prints made from Red River San Gabriel Baryta and they look gorgeous, are wonderful to handle, and smell good too. However, at times I think, under glass does it really matter if I use Baryta or Epson's Premium Luster?  But yes, this is an amazing time to be a fine art printer!

Ernst Dinkla

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2017, 11:44:24 am »