Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: C1 10 speed, vs Lightroom?  (Read 1999 times)

bbrantley

C1 10 speed, vs Lightroom?
« on: December 02, 2016, 01:29:17 am »

I was excited to see a major release that seemed focused on performance.  I've been using LR for 3 or 4 years, and I'm a speed addict.  LR has gotten much better recently, but I'd still like to see a tool that lets me review, at 100%, with fluidity.

I installed C1 10 today and loaded in a set of 10 36mp images that happen to be from a Sony A7r.  I adjusted the preview image size to maximum, 5120px, and regenerated previews.  I'm using iMac 4.0GHz i7 with Radeon R9 M295X, 24GB RAM, everything on SSD.

I observe the following:

At the 100% zoom view, any scrolling to another portion of the image results in a smooth rendering of the preview (which has about 2/3 of the linear resolution of the original), followed by a 1.5-second delay, and then the pixel-accurate rendering drops in.  If I scroll back to the previous area, the blur/delay/render cycle happens again.  It does not look like C1 is caching the rendered image.

[In comparison, in LR, the rest of the image is cached either immediately or after some scrolling has happened.  Working the image over an extended period, at 100%, is fluid, with a fully-accurate rendering.]

At fit-to-screen on my retina display, moving from image to image yields somewhat mixed results.  There is usually a delay of about a half-second before the keypress is registered, and then there may be a period of low-resolution, followed by a higher-resolution rendering.  In all cases, it appears to be showing the preview first and then calculating and overlaying the "accurate" rendering.  C1 is definitely caching at least one or two "previous" images at this zoom level, because backtracking is always fairly snappy.

[This activity seems faster than LR in Develop mode but slower than LR in Library mode.]