Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: "because the required printer does not exist"  (Read 3028 times)

baldwinhill

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
"because the required printer does not exist"
« on: October 22, 2016, 02:25:15 pm »

Here's my setup: PC running Windows 7 64-bit, printing from Adobe Photoshop CS5 to a HP Designjet Z3200 printer.  This was a recent install of Win7 and the printer is brand new.  We're printing directly to the HP PCL3 driver, no RIP.

Fairly often when we go to print from Photoshop and we click on "Printer Settings" in the print dialog, it pauses a moment then puts up an error box that says "because the required printer does not exist".  We have found that switching to a different printer then switching back to the Z3200 clears this condition, but the Z3200 driver has now forgotten any settings we may have used previously and we see the phrase "Needs Calibration" under the printer selector pulldown.

Has anybody seen anything like this?  Any idea how to proceed?
Logged

Ernst Dinkla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4005
Re: "because the required printer does not exist"
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2016, 04:02:45 am »

Odd. Did you already ping to the address as shown on the printer panel?  Set that address manually in Windows printer driver configuration? In the install, used an auto naming of the printer or changed the printer name? I use W7 and a (old) Z3200-PS connected with Ethernet and do not have issues like that. Try to reinstall the drivers and pay attention to the things mentioned. I have both PCL3 and PS3 installed but use the PCL3 one. Also reinstall Printer Utility. In Windows printer configuration I set the printer preferences on my most used settings, for example application controlled color management.

A detour solution could be the Windows printer default set on for example Microsoft XLS or a PDF creator virtual printer and you switch in the application to the Z for printing. That becomes easier with Qimage Ultimate where you create several printer set ups and store them for recall or recall total jobs from the interactive logfile.


Met vriendelijke groet, Ernst

http://www.pigment-print.com/spectralplots/spectrumviz_1.htm
January 2016 update, 700+ inkjet media white spectral plots
Logged

Mark Lindquist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1596
  • it’s not about the photos we take - it’s the ones we leave
    • LINDQUIST STUDIOS
Re: "because the required printer does not exist"
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2016, 07:27:36 pm »

I think I would uninstall the printer, then shut everything down - computer, printer, Lan, everything.

Then I would start by powering on the computer, checking to see if the printer is still installed.

If not, I'd power on the LAN, then the printer.  Check to see what IP address the printer has on the printer's front panel.

Then type that address into your browser to see if it indeed is there.  Confirm.
Then I would download the most recent version of software which is October 18, 2016:

http://h20564.www2.hp.com/hpsc/swd/public/readIndex?sp4ts.oid=11176681&swLangOid=8&swEnvOid=4060

Then go ahead and install that.

Then install the Utility:

http://h20564.www2.hp.com/hpsc/swd/public/readIndex?sp4ts.oid=11176681&swLangOid=8&swEnvOid=4063

I would not use USB, only LAN.

Once you have it installed, check to see what your printers/devices shows - has it correctly installed the driver?

Do a test print, and only 1 test print.

Then shut down the printer at the printer's front panel, then turn the on/off switch in back to off.  Unplug the printer.

Wait a full minute, then plug the power back in and turn the on/off switch to on.

Go back to the printer and start printing.

If it prints correctly, then you're set.  If it doesn't, do the printer restart procedure several times.

I'm quite certain it should take after the 2nd or third time.

Please let us know.

Good luck,

Mark


Logged
Mark Lindquist
http://z3200.com, http://MarkLindquistPhotography.com
Lindquist Studios.com

deanwork

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2400
Re: "because the required printer does not exist"
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2016, 09:29:50 pm »

My old Z3100 is printing fine with ethernet on Windows 10. In the software pull down where the printer is listed it says the same thing as your subject of this post.  Surprised me but it works normally. I didn't have to reinstall the driver or anything. My profiles are still there. It booted up after the OS was installed and just worked.



I think I would uninstall the printer, then shut everything down - computer, printer, Lan, everything.

Then I would start by powering on the computer, checking to see if the printer is still installed.

If not, I'd power on the LAN, then the printer.  Check to see what IP address the printer has on the printer's front panel.

Then type that address into your browser to see if it indeed is there.  Confirm.
Then I would download the most recent version of software which is October 18, 2016:

http://h20564.www2.hp.com/hpsc/swd/public/readIndex?sp4ts.oid=11176681&swLangOid=8&swEnvOid=4060

Then go ahead and install that.

Then install the Utility:

http://h20564.www2.hp.com/hpsc/swd/public/readIndex?sp4ts.oid=11176681&swLangOid=8&swEnvOid=4063

I would not use USB, only LAN.

Once you have it installed, check to see what your printers/devices shows - has it correctly installed the driver?

Do a test print, and only 1 test print.

Then shut down the printer at the printer's front panel, then turn the on/off switch in back to off.  Unplug the printer.

Wait a full minute, then plug the power back in and turn the on/off switch to on.

Go back to the printer and start printing.

If it prints correctly, then you're set.  If it doesn't, do the printer restart procedure several times.

I'm quite certain it should take after the 2nd or third time.

Please let us know.

Good luck,

Mark
Logged

Mark Lindquist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1596
  • it’s not about the photos we take - it’s the ones we leave
    • LINDQUIST STUDIOS
Re: "because the required printer does not exist"
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2016, 08:15:06 pm »

My old Z3100 is printing fine with ethernet on Windows 10. In the software pull down where the printer is listed it says the same thing as your subject of this post.  Surprised me but it works normally. I didn't have to reinstall the driver or anything. My profiles are still there. It booted up after the OS was installed and just worked.

That's good to know John.  Since he said he was using Windows 7, that's why I went about it as I did.
A new Z3200ps SHOULD work perfectly with Windows 10.

I remember Ernst was using XP for the longest time and reluctantly upgraded to Vista... wonder what he's using now?   ;)
Logged
Mark Lindquist
http://z3200.com, http://MarkLindquistPhotography.com
Lindquist Studios.com

Mark Lindquist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1596
  • it’s not about the photos we take - it’s the ones we leave
    • LINDQUIST STUDIOS
Re: "because the required printer does not exist"
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2016, 09:19:05 pm »

So John,
Have you ever noticed how people come on to the forum having made next to none if not any posts, cry for help for their Z's, then never come back?
Presumably they get their answers, get their problem fixed and go on their merry way.

Either that or they go on to other sources... but what other sources, LOL?

Interesting.

Logged
Mark Lindquist
http://z3200.com, http://MarkLindquistPhotography.com
Lindquist Studios.com

shadowblade

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2839
Re: "because the required printer does not exist"
« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2016, 01:59:05 am »

What other help is there? It's not like tech support is any use. This is pretty much HP's semi-official helpdesk for their photo printers.
Logged

Ernst Dinkla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4005
Re: "because the required printer does not exist"
« Reply #7 on: October 28, 2016, 03:52:40 am »

I remember Ernst was using XP for the longest time and reluctantly upgraded to Vista... wonder what he's using now?   ;)

Window 7 these days and the Vista system as a back-up still around.
Not writing this from either one.

Met vriendelijke groet, Ernst

http://www.pigment-print.com/spectralplots/spectrumviz_1.htm
July 2016 update, 700+ inkjet media white spectral plots
Logged

deanwork

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2400
Re: "because the required printer does not exist"
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2016, 03:03:35 pm »

Yea, Mark this is the HP help desk for America at least, and you are the director since you actually worked there and know what you are talking about. With me it is usually speculation and trial by error. Thankfully there has been almost no trouble with my Z in all these years.

I was on XP for years, and still am on my scanner PC and it is stable as hell.

I switched to W 7 when a bought a new HP quad core box which has just been 1000% dependable and faster than my Macs. But somehow this thing updated itself to W 10 when I rebooted one day. I couldn't believe it. I was so mad. But when the Z worked right off the bat with ethernet, I had no complaints.

john
Logged

Mark Lindquist

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1596
  • it’s not about the photos we take - it’s the ones we leave
    • LINDQUIST STUDIOS
Re: "because the required printer does not exist"
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2016, 04:38:02 pm »

Yea, Mark this is the HP help desk for America at least, and you are the director since you actually worked there and know what you are talking about. With me it is usually speculation and trial by error. Thankfully there has been almost no trouble with my Z in all these years.

I was on XP for years, and still am on my scanner PC and it is stable as hell.

I switched to W 7 when a bought a new HP quad core box which has just been 1000% dependable and faster than my Macs. But somehow this thing updated itself to W 10 when I rebooted one day. I couldn't believe it. I was so mad. But when the Z worked right off the bat with ethernet, I had no complaints.

john

Funny.  Upgraded and pissed, but it worked, so WTH!  LOL.

OK time to dispel rumors.  John Nollendorfs said something in a thread awhile back facetiously about my having a golden parachute, etc., from HP.

FOR THE RECORD, I have never worked for HP other than a brief consultation with one of the LF execs here in my studio. 

Forget that - never worked for them.

Mark
Logged
Mark Lindquist
http://z3200.com, http://MarkLindquistPhotography.com
Lindquist Studios.com
Pages: [1]   Go Up