Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Local Adjustments. A feedback topic  (Read 3499 times)

KimALdis

• Kim-Aldis.co.uk
Local Adjustments. A feedback topic
« on: October 12, 2016, 04:10:31 am »

I'm about to submit a second customer feedback form, as per requested here a few days ago, centering around creating masks for local adjustments. Before I do I thought I'd drop my thoughts here for comment:

I'd like to talk about the limitations of local adjustment mask creation. I use this almost exclusively for dodge and burn, much as I do in Lightroom.

Dodge and burn is a key part of the post production process for any photographer but the tools you offer for this are very basic. Essentially, paint, erase and gradient an not much else.

* painting areas with very broad soft edges isn't easy with a brush. Modifying them is even tougher. I'm good with a brush - I'm a VFX artist of many year's standing - but I still find this excessively time consuming. Two things to help here; an ellipse tool, as per Lightroom. Ellipse makes it easy to create large, very soft but smooth areas. And a gaussian blur tool.

* there is no clear command

* painting is slow. There's a very noticeable time lag between painting and the result of painting appearing on the image. Rapid and responsive visual feedback is essential for this kind of work. Lightroom is far superior in this respect.

* Lack of hotkeys. You can't work quickly if you have to keep jumping to a menu to change opacity, softness, etc.

* Something odd going on with the brush icon. When making it smaller, at a certain size it just disappears.

* Clone and heal layers. That there is only one offset for brush-strokes within a layer seems odd to me. This is a very slow workflow if you have many areas in the image to heal or clone; each area requires a different offset to the others, means you have to create a new layer for each. Very kludgey.