Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Photoshop CC 2015.5 (WIN) temporary directory bug  (Read 11150 times)

Pictus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 216
    • Retouching
Photoshop CC 2015.5 (WIN) temporary directory bug
« on: July 19, 2016, 08:14:02 pm »

From https://feedback.photoshop.com/photoshop_family/topics/photoshop-cc-fills-root-of-my-boot-drive-with-tempzxpsign-folders

Photoshop CC 2015.5 for Windows may create lots of temporary directories named zxpsignXXXXXX
in the wrong place.
C:\Users\<user name>\AppData\Local\
But the right place is
C:\Users\<user name>\AppData\Local\Temp\

Wrong place


Right place


The solution is to add a backslash \ to the TMP variable value
From %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Temp
To    %USERPROFILE%\AppData\Local\Temp\

How to Change/Edit Default Location of Temporary Files
http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials/23500-temporary-files-folder-change-location-windows.html


The temporary stuff must be created inside the TEMP directory or the Disk Cleanup
will not be able to remove the trash.

UPDATE:

The bug still exist in the version CC 2015.5.1, but altering the TMP variable may crash
NIK Collection when reediting as a Smart Object, so I decided to set the TMP variable
to the default value and follow Jstar333 tip to create a BAT file to call Photoshop.



@ECHO OFF
SETLOCAL ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION

rem start photoshop
START "" /B /WAIT /Dc:\Progra~2\Adobe\ADOBEP~1.5\ "PhotoShop.exe"

rem change directory to were Adobe temporary directories are being created
CD /Dc:\Users\Pictus\AppData\Local\

rem delete Adobe temporary directories
for /D %%a in (Tempzxpsign*) do rmdir "%%a"
« Last Edit: September 09, 2016, 10:27:02 pm by Pictus »
Logged

Simon Garrett

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 742
Re: Photoshop CC 2015.5 (WIN) temporary directory bug
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2016, 07:30:07 am »

Thanks for posting.  The fix seems to work fine for me. 
Logged

Rand47

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1882
Re: Photoshop CC 2015.5 (WIN) temporary directory bug
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2016, 07:39:28 pm »

Do we know if this was fixed in the just released update?

Rand
Logged
Rand Scott Adams

Redcrown

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 507
Re: Photoshop CC 2015.5 (WIN) temporary directory bug
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2016, 01:59:35 am »

FYI... I did this "fix". Then discovered two stand-alone programs were unable to save files. One was SNS HDR, which simply said "Unrecognized error" when trying to save. Reversed the fix, all was OK.
Logged

Jstar333

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Photoshop CC 2015.5 (WIN) temporary directory bug
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2016, 10:37:21 pm »

I created a script to remove the directories.  The Script launches Photoshop CC 2015.5, waits for it to close and then deletes the Directories from the Hard Drive.  Copy the Script into a text editor and call it "PhotoshopCC.bat".   Save it to a location on your Hard Drive.
 
@ECHO OFF
SETLOCAL ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION

rem start photoshop
START "" /B /WAIT /DD:\PHOTOS~3\ADOBEP~1.5\ "PhotoShop.exe"

rem change directory to were Adobe temporary directories are being created
CD /DC:\Temp

rem delete Adobe temporary directories
for /D %%a in (Userzxpsign*) do rmdir "%%a"


In order to use this you will need to change three lines.

1) START "" /B /WAIT /DD:\PHOTOS~3\ADOBEP~1.5\ "PhotoShop.exe"

D:\PHOTOS~3\ADOBEP~1.5\ "PhotoShop.exe":  is the path were Photoshop is located on your system(On this computer Photoshop is installed on drive D:).  This Path must be changed and uses DOS Short path names.  Open a DOS command window and use "dir /x" command to find the short DOS path names.

2) CD /DC:\Temp  : is the directory location were the temp Directories created by Adobe are stored.
C:\Temp  is the location where I moved the Windows temporary file location on my system.  This path must be changed and also uses short DOS path names.

3) for /D %%a in (Userzxpsign*) do rmdir "%% :  removes the Adobe created directories.
Userzxpsign*   This name must be changed to what the Adobe Directories are called on your system.

You need to create a shortcut to launch the Bat file.  I used the Adobe Photoshop CC 2015 Shortcut and made the following modifications so it would launch "Photoshop CC.bat" instead.

Target:           "D:\Start up Scripts\PhotoshopCC.bat"
Start In:         "D:\Start up Scripts"
Shortcut Key:  None
Run:               Minimized 

Quotes must be entered in the properties box on lines 1 & 2.  Lines 1 & 2 must point to were PhotoshopCC.bat is stored on your system.

« Last Edit: August 01, 2016, 10:46:20 pm by Jstar333 »
Logged

Pictus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 216
    • Retouching
Re: Photoshop CC 2015.5 (WIN) temporary directory bug
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2016, 05:14:11 pm »

Thanks for posting.  The fix seems to work fine for me.

You are welcome.

Do we know if this was fixed in the just released update?

Rand

The problem is with the latest(CC 2015.5)    ;D

FYI... I did this "fix". Then discovered two stand-alone programs were unable to save files. One was SNS HDR, which simply said "Unrecognized error" when trying to save. Reversed the fix, all was OK.

Thank you for reporting.

I created a script to remove the directories.  The Script launches Photoshop CC 2015.5, waits for it to close and then deletes the Directories from the Hard Drive.  Copy the Script into a text editor and call it "PhotoshopCC.bat".   Save it to a location on your Hard Drive.

Very nice, thank you!
 
Logged

Pictus

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 216
    • Retouching
Re: Photoshop CC 2015.5 (WIN) temporary directory bug
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2016, 10:26:27 pm »

UPDATE:

The bug still exist in the version CC 2015.5.1, but altering the TMP variable may crash
NIK Collection when reediting as a Smart Object, so I decided to set the TMP variable
to the default value and follow Jstar333 tip to create a BAT file to call Photoshop.



@ECHO OFF
SETLOCAL ENABLEDELAYEDEXPANSION

rem start photoshop
START "" /B /WAIT /Dc:\Progra~2\Adobe\ADOBEP~1.5\ "PhotoShop.exe"

rem change directory to were Adobe temporary directories are being created
CD /Dc:\Users\Pictus\AppData\Local\

rem delete Adobe temporary directories
for /D %%a in (Tempzxpsign*) do rmdir "%%a"
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up