Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 30D - lense recommendations  (Read 2759 times)

guy1

30D - lense recommendations
« on: June 07, 2006, 08:03:44 pm »

I am going to make the plunge from my canon elan 2 film camera to the 30d.  I shoot just about everything...but mainly people and kids in posed portraits and candids - indoors and outdoors.  I like to blur the background for portraits to make the subject "pop".    I am a recreational photographer who appreciates quality and is willing to learn to make this equipment work to its potential.  

I plan on keeping a few lenses from the elan:
1.  canon 28-105 3.5-4.5
2.  canon 50  1.8

I have been told my Tamron 28-200 ld 3.8-5.6 will not be a good lense for the 30d.  I believe they said the quality does not match up.  

considering the 1.6x factor, I am going to be short on the wide angle end and I am considering the  canon 16-35 2.8L that will cover the low end with flexibility.  A big splurge would be the canon 70-200 2.8L IS, but I am not sure if I will need it if the 28-105 works out (considering the 1.6x factor).  Also, maybe I should give the Tamron a try first before I discontinue it....but never really cared for the lense...it always was faily dark in the viewfinder.

I do not think I want to get into the canon s lense series since I do not want to be stuck with those lenses should the camera market go the full frame.  However, this camera should last me many, many years since it is only a hobby and I don't plan to upgrade unless there is a major benefit in future technology.

Please give me some recommendations.  I appreciate the help.

boku

• http://www.bobkulonphoto.com
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2006, 10:25:21 am »

I plan on keeping a few lenses from the elan:
1.  canon 28-105 3.5-4.5
2.  canon 50  1.8

Yes, I think the 50mm is the first thing that comes to mind when you talk about your application.