Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Capture One support of Hasselblad  (Read 10850 times)

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2157
    • Bob Shaw Photography
Capture One support of Hasselblad
« on: April 07, 2016, 09:51:45 pm »

Prompted by the last post on X-Pro2 I thought I would ask if C1 was ever going to support Hasselblad files?
I would move probably move to Capture One from Aperture if it did, but as it stands it's a show shopper.
So is there any support for FFF files at all?
I don't really need tethering as happy to use Phocus for that.
I just want a preview and export database of raw files to replace Aperture and I don't like Lightroom.
I use a Mac if that makes a difference, so the raw files are already visible in the finder.
Logged
Website - http://BobShawPhotography.com
Studio and Commercial Photography

davidgp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 758
    • davidgp fotografia
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2016, 02:49:30 am »

Short answer no... Long answer: phase one only supports their own medium format backs on capture one. It is a commercial decision, so people have to use their backs to use their software... In medium format, for lower formats they support the majority of camera brands...


http://dgpfotografia.com

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2157
    • Bob Shaw Photography
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2016, 05:05:48 am »

OK, thanks. Aperture it is.
Logged
Website - http://BobShawPhotography.com
Studio and Commercial Photography

Dinarius

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1201
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2016, 09:08:08 am »

Bob,

Can I ask what you find wrong with Phocus?

Thanks.

D.

Ps. It's far, far, from perfect. I just want to know what your reservations are.  ;)
Logged

SecondFocus

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 526
    • SecondFocus
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2016, 11:29:11 pm »

Phocus with Hasselblad files is superb. I thought I was going to miss using C1 but quickly found out I was mistaken. I do still use C1 for other files.
Logged
Ian L. Sitren
[url=http://SecondFocus.co

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2157
    • Bob Shaw Photography
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2016, 01:22:41 am »

Bob,
Can I ask what you find wrong with Phocus?
Thanks.
D.
Ps. It's far, far, from perfect. I just want to know what your reservations are.  ;)
Nothing is wrong with it as far as a raw processor, in fact  I would say it is the best for Hasselblad and it supports the inbuilt colour management of the camera. I use it for for the critical stuff that and then export a TIF. However I need a digital asset management tool and it's not that.
Capture One, Lightroom and Aperture are, but only Aperture so far can handle Hasselblad raw files on a server for quick cataloging and keywording.
Logged
Website - http://BobShawPhotography.com
Studio and Commercial Photography

E.J. Peiker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 891
    • http://www.ejphoto.com
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2016, 12:28:41 pm »

Is anybody working Hasselblad files in Capture One by first converting them to DNG so that C1 can be used?  If so, what are the downsides that you are seeing? To me the biggest problem with non-Phase MF is the lack of support in C1.
Logged

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2157
    • Bob Shaw Photography
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #7 on: June 25, 2016, 11:20:45 pm »

1. Is anybody working Hasselblad files in Capture One by first converting them to DNG so that C1 can be used? 
2. If so, what are the downsides that you are seeing?
3. To me the biggest problem with non-Phase MF is the lack of support in C1.
1. Certainly not me. I don't use DNG at all and see no reason to do so. DNG loses critical camera specific information.
2. To me when I was using it for a Phase back on an H2 I thought it was OK, certainly better than Lightroom. Not as good as Aperture and still a work in progress as far as a DAM and stability.
3. No, I would sooner have the better Hasselblad camera and use Phocus which works fine and export a TIF, particularly since Phocus integrated the colour reproduction using icc.
Logged
Website - http://BobShawPhotography.com
Studio and Commercial Photography

E.J. Peiker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 891
    • http://www.ejphoto.com
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2016, 11:19:21 am »

Yes I know the limitations of DNG but those pale compared to not using Capture One.  The question was if anyone is using it not who isn't using it ;) - those are easy to find.  The point is being able to integrate it into the same workflow and asset management as all my other gear.  Personally, I think that by today's standards, Phocus is rudimentary and feature weak to be considered a serious RAW converter and Aperture is a defunct program from what I consider to be one of the worst software companies since you can not trust them to not completely drop and even eliminate support at any moment for anything that they make. And I absolutely will never buy into Adobe's CC software model.
Logged

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2157
    • Bob Shaw Photography
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2016, 08:44:38 pm »

Well if you don't like Apple, Hasselblad, Adobe that is fine and they will survive.
The question was whether Capture One supported Hasselblad raw and it doesn't so it is unsuitable to me.
Aperture still works on the latest OS, it backs up perfectly and runs on a server so I can use multiple machines.
Phocus is a raw processor and capture tool and never tries to be any more and in that it excels for Hasselblad.
It all works for me.
Still in the market for a Mac OS raw conversion stable DAM with migration tool from Aperture.
Logged
Website - http://BobShawPhotography.com
Studio and Commercial Photography

E.J. Peiker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 891
    • http://www.ejphoto.com
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #10 on: June 26, 2016, 09:36:25 pm »

Well if you don't like Apple, Hasselblad, Adobe that is fine and they will survive.
The question was whether Capture One supported Hasselblad raw and it doesn't so it is unsuitable to me.
Aperture still works on the latest OS, it backs up perfectly and runs on a server so I can use multiple machines.
Phocus is a raw processor and capture tool and never tries to be any more and in that it excels for Hasselblad.
It all works for me.
Still in the market for a Mac OS raw conversion stable DAM with migration tool from Aperture.
That wasn't my question and I thought you were responding to me in your last post.  I know it doesn't support the Hasselblad RAW format directly.  My question was if anyone is using C1 by converting to DNG as an intermediary.  You aren't, I get that! 
Logged

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2157
    • Bob Shaw Photography
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2016, 03:08:26 am »

That wasn't my question and I thought you were responding to me in your last post.  I know it doesn't support the Hasselblad RAW format directly.  My question was if anyone is using C1 by converting to DNG as an intermediary.  You aren't, I get that!
I asked the question, see the top of the page. If you have a different question you should start a new thread.
Logged
Website - http://BobShawPhotography.com
Studio and Commercial Photography

E.J. Peiker

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 891
    • http://www.ejphoto.com
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #12 on: June 27, 2016, 08:59:10 am »

Geez, excuse me for butting in on your private thread with a completely related question.
Logged

mediumcool

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 770
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2016, 11:49:36 pm »

Geez, excuse me for butting in on your private thread with a completely related question.

Thumbs up from me.   :D
Logged
FaceBook facebook.com/ian.goss.39   www.mlkshk.com/user/mediumcool

ErikKaffehr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11311
    • Echophoto
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #14 on: July 04, 2016, 02:38:17 pm »

Hi,

My understanding is that Capture One does not support raws from competitive MFDs. Going trough DNG may be a way around, but C1 may disable support a specific DNG file by their discretion. Also, Capture One's processing pipeline is very different from the DNG pipeline. DNG specifies how conversion is made into CIE XYZ, while C1 is said to use a camera specific RGB (?) space. So DNG stuff needs to be interpreted for C1 processing pipe line.

So, I would be a bit skeptical about using DNG with C1.

Best regards
Erik

That wasn't my question and I thought you were responding to me in your last post.  I know it doesn't support the Hasselblad RAW format directly.  My question was if anyone is using C1 by converting to DNG as an intermediary.  You aren't, I get that!
Logged
Erik Kaffehr
 

Doug Peterson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4205
    • http://www.doug-peterson.com
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #15 on: July 06, 2016, 03:29:40 pm »

There is not and will not be support in C1 for medium-format raw files other than those from Team Phase One. Repackaging the raw data in a DNG container does not change that.

If you'll be buying a medium format solution from someone other than Team Phase One I suggest downloading the software which supports it and seeing how you get on with it.

ErikKaffehr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11311
    • Echophoto
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #16 on: July 06, 2016, 03:37:10 pm »

Hi Doug,

You shouldn't try to predict the future. Some time Phase One may realise that a good raw developer needs to support all raw formats and also the only open raw format we have.

If Phase One doesn't support competitive MFDs in DNG than they don't support DNG, period.

Best regards
Erik

There is not and will not be support in C1 for medium-format raw files other than those from Team Phase One. Repackaging the raw data in a DNG container does not change that.

If you'll be buying a medium format solution from someone other than Team Phase One I suggest downloading the software which supports it and seeing how you get on with it.
Logged
Erik Kaffehr
 

BobShaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2157
    • Bob Shaw Photography
Re: Capture One support of Hasselblad
« Reply #17 on: July 06, 2016, 09:26:33 pm »

Some time Phase One may realise that a good raw developer needs to support all raw formats and also the only open raw format we have.
True and logical, but probably won't happen.
Marketing 101 is to entice people with a small fish and then try to up sell to the big one.

Hasselblad users perceive that they have a better camera and are generally happy with Phocus as a raw processor, but may be enticed to Capture One for other things that Phocus doesn't do, like Digital Asset Management. It then puts the Phase brand in their face on the computer. However no support for FFF won't make them even look at it. I used Capture One at about V7 when I had a Phase, but don't miss it now.

The old Sony philosophy of "you can't use my Beta tapes if you don't use my Handicam" just means you used VHS and bought another brand. The difference is that the Sony actually was better.

Capture One is now at V9 and Phocus at V3 so lets see what happens going forward.
Logged
Website - http://BobShawPhotography.com
Studio and Commercial Photography
Pages: [1]   Go Up