Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Getting Started In Printing?  (Read 3863 times)

Smo

Getting Started In Printing?
« on: May 20, 2006, 01:23:11 pm »

I've been shooting digital for a couple of months now (and film for a couple years before that), and I've fallen in love with the digital darkroom.  But now I want to get into printing, and there's a dizzying array of options:

-buying a printer
-using a photo lab
-using an internet photo lab (e.g. ezprints), etc.

And then the whole can o' worms that is color management.

So I'm wondering, what are the advantages/disadvantages of each of those options, and how much would it cost to get started?  I doubt I'll be making any really huge prints, probably not bigger than 13x19 (although I may want to do panoramas on occasion).  I also want to do black and white as well as color.

Also, if I can get the brightness, contrast, and gamma of my display set up without a color management device, is it worth it to get one?  I'd like to avoid the expense, if possible.

Thanks for reading and responding.
« Last Edit: May 20, 2006, 01:24:19 pm by Smo »

DarkPenguin

« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2006, 01:59:11 pm »

Not really answering your question.

But you have to start out by doing the math.  How much are you willing to spend?  How much are you going to print?  How often?  Are you willing to wait for prints to arrive in the mail (or driving to your local shop) or do you want to be able to see the print right now?  How long do the prints have to last?  Are you selling them or are you just changing the prints on the wall?  Do you want to use third party papers?

If you can pull off calibrating your monitor to a standard you've little need of a calibration device.  Good luck with that.

DarkPenguin

« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2006, 02:26:29 pm »

Also, if I can get the brightness, contrast, and gamma of my display set up without a color management device, is it worth it to get one?  I'd like to avoid the expense, if possible.