Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Shoot 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI 30D?  (Read 5029 times)

Dirty 30D

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Shoot 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI 30D?
« on: May 19, 2006, 03:02:50 PM »

Hi all.
 

I'm a newb to this board, and to the Canon 30D?  I just receive it in the mail today.

I've had a little bit of time to play with it, and am really loving it (its a step up from me from the Nikon 5700).  However, I want to shoot 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI not 72.  I have searched all over the net, and read over the book several times, and have not found how to change from 72 DPI to 300 when shooting @ 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI (Large/Fine) Image Recording Quality as per the Instruction Manual.  

Can this be done, and if so, how?

Surely everything shot is restricted to 72 DPI...?

Any feedback on how to switch to 300 DPI is really appreciated!

Thanks!

And great forum.
Logged

piksi

  • Guest
Shoot 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI 30D?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2006, 03:39:34 PM »

Quote
I've had a little bit of time to play with it, and am really loving it (its a step up from me from the Nikon 5700).  However, I want to shoot 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI not 72.  I have searched all over the net, and read over the book several times, and have not found how to change from 72 DPI to 300 when shooting @ 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI (Large/Fine) Image Recording Quality as per the Instruction Manual.

I don't mean to be mean, but perhaps you should learn about the basics before investing any more money into your gear.

72 dpi is the resolution (dots per inch or pixels per inch) that the displays are showing your photos

it's just a value that determines how good quality a certain inch*inch or cm*cm area of graphics has.

you can print your photos on 300dpi printer and you wil get a physically smaller picture than you would by showing it on your screen because more pixels are crammed vertically and horizontally into the same space.

cameras don't have any dpi by default because it just wouldn't make any sense. though, you can choose how many pixels (what physical resolution) you record the photos at. usually it doesn't make any sense to use smaller than the maximum resolution available.
Logged

englishm

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 134
    • http://www.pacificlight.ca
Shoot 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI 30D?
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2006, 03:42:21 PM »

Pixels are pixels, and digital images are dimensionless.  What this means is that if you choose to print an image that is 3504 x 2336 at 300 dpi, it will end up 11.69 inches long by 7.79 inches wide... print it (or display it) at 72 dpi and it will be 48.67 in. long by 32.44 in wide.  It just simple math and depends only on how far and wide you want to spread the available pixels.

best
Logged
Mark English
[url=http://www.pacificligh

piksi

  • Guest
Shoot 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI 30D?
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2006, 03:58:26 PM »

Quote
Pixels are pixels, and digital images are dimensionless.  What this means is that if you choose to print an image that is 3504 x 2336 at 300 dpi, it will end up 11.69 inches long by 7.79 inches wide... print it (or display it) at 72 dpi and it will be 48.67 in. long by 32.44 in wide.  It just simple math and depends only on how far and wide you want to spread the available pixels.

There's always someone who has the ability to explain things in a more clear way than me ;-)

i guess my explanation was a bit indisctinct :-)
Logged

Dirty 30D

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Shoot 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI 30D?
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2006, 03:33:04 PM »

Hey thanks!  

Yeah, I'm aware of this, but what is throwing me off, is when I shot with my 5700, on the high setting it was showing xxxxbyxxxx @ 300 DPI (in Photoshop), and on the lower setting it was showing xxxxbyxxxx @ 72 DPI for the same image.  This is what is confusing me.  If this can be explained, then please, by all means do so.

However, back to 30D.

So, Yes or No, you CANNOT shoot 3504 x 2336 @ 300 DPI?  Everything you shoot is at 72 DPI (as per Photoshop)?

Thanks.

Quote
I don't mean to be mean, but perhaps you should learn about the basics before investing any more money into your gear.

72 dpi is the resolution (dots per inch or pixels per inch) that the displays are showing your photos

it's just a value that determines how good quality a certain inch*inch or cm*cm area of graphics has.

you can print your photos on 300dpi printer and you wil get a physically smaller picture than you would by showing it on your screen because more pixels are crammed vertically and horizontally into the same space.

cameras don't have any dpi by default because it just wouldn't make any sense. though, you can choose how many pixels (what physical resolution) you record the photos at. usually it doesn't make any sense to use smaller than the maximum resolution available.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=66041\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
Logged

AJSJones

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 357
Shoot 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI 30D?
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2006, 05:12:32 PM »

Quote
Hey thanks!  

Yeah, I'm aware of this, but what is throwing me off, is when I shot with my 5700, on the high setting it was showing xxxxbyxxxx @ 300 DPI (in Photoshop), and on the lower setting it was showing xxxxbyxxxx @ 72 DPI for the same image.  This is what is confusing me.  If this can be explained, then please, by all means do so.

However, back to 30D.

So, Yes or No, you CANNOT shoot 3504 x 2336 @ 300 DPI?  Everything you shoot is at 72 DPI (as per Photoshop)?

Thanks.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=66133\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
In answer to your YES/NO question: NO, you cannot change the in-camera setting that is put on your 3504x2336 image.  
This setting does not affect the image in any way.  The dpi only means something when you want to print or display the same pixels. ( If you don't want to capture all the pixels, you can change the large/fine to other , smaller sizes )  

Think about why you care about the dpi!

As explained, it does not affect the number of pixels or the quality of the image, only what size it will be printed/viewed at.  On your 5700, the values of the xxxx's in your post are very important to the issue that confuses you.  I've not used that specific camera, but consider the following : an 8"x12" print at 72 ppi is 576x864 pixels;  and an 8x12 print at 300 ppi 2400x3600 pixels.  The first is much lower "quality/resolution" than the second one, and that's probably what happened on you camera - they confused you into thinking that low ppi is bad and high ppi is good.  That is true only if the size remains fixed, as in the 8x12 example.

In Photoshop - where you are told the image is at 72 ppi - you can magically change this to 300 ppi without touching the data : Go to Image/Image size - then UNCHECK the "Resample image" button and type in 300 where it says 72 in the Resolution box.  You will see that the number of pixels does not change but the resolution has "jumped" from 72 to 300.  What HAS also changed is the physical size of the image.  In jargon terms, the "72 ppi" or "300 ppi" designation is only a tag associated with the data for the pixels in the image.

Hope that helps a bit
Andy
Logged

kaelaria

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2223
    • http://www.bgpictures.com
Shoot 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI 30D?
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2006, 06:48:08 PM »

Quote
Hey thanks!  

Yeah, I'm aware of this,

So, Yes or No, you CANNOT shoot 3504 x 2336 @ 300 DPI? 
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=66133\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


You still don't have a clue as to what has been said.

You don't SHOOT AT ANY DPI!  You shoot with a resolution.  DPI is CALCULATED based on how PHYSICALLY (screen, paper) big you want to DISPLAY that resolution!

What you are asking makes zero sense, just like asking "What octane air should I fill my tires with"?  You need to do some basic research into terms, you are WAY out in left field and haven't even grasped the answers already given.  This isn't a hard concept.
Logged

Tim Gray

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2002
    • http://www.timgrayphotography.com
Shoot 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI 30D?
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2006, 07:25:28 PM »

Since the 30D is a camera, not a printer, the simple answer to your question is no, it cannot  shoot DPI.
Logged

francofit

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 142
    • http://
Shoot 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI 30D?
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2006, 12:02:34 AM »

While I think it has already been clarified by every poster here,
I still would like to point newcomers to the best explanation/example I found time ago when I was still unsure about the importance of the PPI tag in every situation:
the link points to Jonathan Wienke's site "Visual Vacations" < Digital DPI - Clearing up the Confusion >
Logged
Franco

Dirty 30D

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Shoot 3504x2336 @ 300 DPI 30D?
« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2006, 12:35:22 AM »

Thanks.
 
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up