Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: C1 v9 slower than v8 when tethering  (Read 1997 times)

G_Allen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 140
    • http://www.plasticimage.com
C1 v9 slower than v8 when tethering
« on: March 11, 2016, 09:11:24 am »

Hi everyone,

I had a advertising shoot yesterday in studio, using C1 v9(.03) tethered from my IQ250 to my top-of-the-line recent 15' Macbook Pro Retina/27" NEC screen.

This was my first time shooting with v9, and it was noticeably slower than my experience with v8 for rendering new images. The client even commented on it.

With v8, I could shoot as fast as I wanted with the IQ250, with near-instant rendering of the previews, no issues whatsoever.

Any ideas on how to speed up v9? Or is it simply slower than v8?

Thanks.
Logged

David Grover / Capture One

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1324
    • Capture One
Re: C1 v9 slower than v8 when tethering
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2016, 02:31:47 pm »

Hi everyone,

I had a advertising shoot yesterday in studio, using C1 v9(.03) tethered from my IQ250 to my top-of-the-line recent 15' Macbook Pro Retina/27" NEC screen.

This was my first time shooting with v9, and it was noticeably slower than my experience with v8 for rendering new images. The client even commented on it.

With v8, I could shoot as fast as I wanted with the IQ250, with near-instant rendering of the previews, no issues whatsoever.

Any ideas on how to speed up v9? Or is it simply slower than v8?

Thanks.

What's your preview size set to?

Logged
David Grover
Business Support and Development Manager

G_Allen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 140
    • http://www.plasticimage.com
Re: C1 v9 slower than v8 when tethering
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2016, 02:45:42 pm »

It's set to 1680 px
Logged

Doug Peterson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4210
    • http://www.doug-peterson.com
Re: C1 v9 slower than v8 when tethering
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2016, 06:45:11 pm »

It's set to 1680 px

Bingo. Your preview size needs be at or near the resolution of the monitor on which you display the images. Otherwise c1 can't use the preview and has to redraw from the raw.

G_Allen

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 140
    • http://www.plasticimage.com
Re: C1 v9 slower than v8 when tethering
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2016, 09:30:40 pm »

Thanks Doug. Does this also apply for the retina screen?
Do you know of any tutorial for tips for speeding up tethering in general? Thanks as always for your help.
Logged

David Grover / Capture One

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1324
    • Capture One
Re: C1 v9 slower than v8 when tethering
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2016, 09:42:55 am »

Thanks Doug. Does this also apply for the retina screen?
Do you know of any tutorial for tips for speeding up tethering in general? Thanks as always for your help.

Ah thought so!!

To tether fast...

1. Shoot to internal SSD if you can
2. High quality cable, observing length restrictions

And above on Preview Size. ;)

D
Logged
David Grover
Business Support and Development Manager

Christoph B.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 341
Re: C1 v9 slower than v8 when tethering
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2016, 03:53:53 pm »

Thanks Doug. Does this also apply for the retina screen?

That's an excellent question!
I have my MacBook Pro Retina set to render the equivalent of 1920x1200 (scaled to high resolution). Does that mean I have to set the preview size to that setting OR the actual 2560 that the Retina display is actually rendering?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up