Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Matte Paper Recomendations  (Read 1841 times)

u2jimbo

• exploring photography
Matte Paper Recomendations
« on: January 29, 2016, 04:08:10 pm »

My Epson R3000 seems to have blown its PK ink line.  When printing with PK ink, blobs of black ink are dropped on the left hand side of the print as the print head begins to make its pass.  I have a lot of ink left (just ordered and received two sets before the blowout).  I switched over to MK to see if I could print with that ink and I can.  I have very little experience with MK ink papers.  I have been printing for a week with Epson's "Ultra Premium Presentation Paper - Matte" which I purchased when I bought this printer (4 years ago).  The prints are all good but quite a bit "softer" than the PK inks provided.  My goal is to use up my ink trying to learn more about matte ink printing before I replace the printer.  Well, I have used up my supply of paper and still have a lot of ink left.  I am enjoying the process and would like to try some comparison printing and maybe find "that special one" in the matte category.

I am a landscape photographer, print almost entirely in color, and I like to print large (largest to date are 24x36 and 20x60 panos).  I use my printer for proofing my prints before sending them to Bay Photo, a top notch lab which allows me to choose from a wide variety of papers, and printing to build up my portfolio.

As a reference, with PK inks, I really like Epson Exhibition Fiber paper.

Thanks in advance.

Jim

howardm

Re: Matte Paper Recomendations
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2016, 04:21:47 pm »

The Canson Rag Photographique (sp) is a must-try.

hugowolf

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2016, 09:26:18 pm »

I would second Howard on that, Hahnemühle Photo Rag 308 is an excellent paper, but Canson Rag Photographique 310 is marginally but noticeably better. I don't think there is a better smooth rag.