Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom  (Read 5862 times)

Manoli

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2291
Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« on: January 15, 2016, 01:00:05 pm »

... or how to replace the Develop module with Capture One.

There's a new version of the Lightroom plugin 'OpenDirectly' which now enables you to launch any selection of files, even files within collections, or folders straight into a CaptureOne session – all from Lightroom and maintains it all within the Lr Catalog.

http://www.photographers-toolbox.com/products/jbeardsworth/opendirectly/




Here's how:

1 - Select files to be converted/processed from within Lr
2 - Tick the checkbox “Make copies ...” at the bottom of the screenshot above
3 - Click on an arrow link next to the selected app - e.g. Capture One.

Here the plugin makes a new subfolder (named after the app, in this case 'Capture One 9') inside the current folder, copies the selected RAW's or tiff's (NOT virtual copies) and launches a new session of C1 with focus on the new folder - where it creates its own session files.

Once you've done your C1 work,
a) export the file either to the same folder,  or
b) a watched folder within Lr.

If it's the same folder, run 'Synchronize Folder ..' from Lr
If it's a watched folder – then the converted files are imported automatically.

The 'plus' here is that all C1 sessions are maintained independently and can be revisited at any time.  If you prefer to maintain all C1 work in a totally distinct folder structure, then just create an Export preset instead.  Keeping it all within Lr, though, allows you to use the other Lr modules (Library, Print,  Web etc. ) without having to switch between apps.

Just started testing it, but so far works with Capture One, Iridient Developer, Affinity Photo and others.

Neat!

« Last Edit: January 15, 2016, 05:13:00 pm by Manoli »
Logged

Ranger Rick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 42
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2016, 03:40:33 pm »

Thanks for this!
Logged

smahn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 284
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2016, 05:12:45 pm »

Anyway to have C1 obey a LR crop on a Raw sent via Open Directly?
Logged

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4755
    • My photography site
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2016, 04:55:40 am »

Yes but only if C1 understands the ACR crop instruction and you have done a Save Metadata to File. Before invoking the plugin I recommend always doing a quick Mac: CmdS or Win:CtrlS to ensure C1 picks up as much metadata as it can.

John
Logged

smahn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 284
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2016, 07:46:16 am »

John, could you elaborate about C1 understanding the ACR/LR crop instructions?

Thanks
Logged

fdisilvestro

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1850
    • Frank Disilvestro
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2016, 08:15:26 am »

Hi,

In my experience and tests, C1 does not understand crop instructions from LR/ACR. The only thing that it can read from the xmp files are ratings and keywords (not even color labels)

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4755
    • My photography site
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2016, 09:00:59 am »

John, could you elaborate about C1 understanding the ACR/LR crop instructions?

If C1 doesn't understand LR/ACR crops, then the answer's "no". If it does, "yes" if you save the metadata to file before invoking the plugin. But C1 should certainly read all IPTC fields.
Logged

andyptak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 469
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2016, 10:46:40 am »

I'm a total numbskull about such things, but didn't I read that LR and C1 just can't read/understand adjustments made in the other?
Logged

john beardsworth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4755
    • My photography site
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2016, 11:23:07 am »

I'm a total numbskull about such things, but didn't I read that LR and C1 just can't read/understand adjustments made in the other?

PhotoMechanic does show cropping made in Lr. C1 could do the same, but they probably don't think it's worthwhile.
Logged

Bob Rockefeller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 548
  • macOS, iOS, OM Systems, Epson P800
    • Bob Rockefeller
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2016, 12:51:56 pm »

I'm a total numbskull about such things, but didn't I read that LR and C1 just can't read/understand adjustments made in the other?

CO can read the crop from Lr if the Lr images are exported as a catalog and imported to CO via the File> Import Catalog > Lightroom Catalog command.

I need to experiment some, but I wonder why not otherwise?
Logged
Bob Rockefeller
Midway, GA   www.bobrockefeller.com

andyptak

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 469
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #10 on: January 17, 2016, 01:27:28 pm »

Thanks guys. Crop is one thing but how about shadow, highlight, sharpening etc? Do I presume that these type of adjustments just won't fly from one platform to another?
Logged

Bob Rockefeller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 548
  • macOS, iOS, OM Systems, Epson P800
    • Bob Rockefeller
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #11 on: January 17, 2016, 01:52:25 pm »

Thanks guys. Crop is one thing but how about shadow, highlight, sharpening etc? Do I presume that these type of adjustments just won't fly from one platform to another?

With a catalog import, you get CO's approximation of those things.
Logged
Bob Rockefeller
Midway, GA   www.bobrockefeller.com

Manoli

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2291
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2016, 02:34:18 pm »

Crop is one thing but how about shadow, highlight, sharpening etc? Do I presume that these type of adjustments just won't fly from one platform to another?

Why would you want carry these across ? These adjustments are set in the respective vc's or variants and applied on export. If you use 3rd party plugins, they're applied to an exported tiff anyway.  The whole point of the latest plugin is that it allows you to do parallel but independent processing - not 'mix&match' their respective tools.
Logged

jed best

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 398
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2016, 03:10:42 pm »

Anyone have trouble with Opendirectly creating the subfolder but CO not opening that subfolder but defaulting to an untitled folder. It works fine with Iridient Developer so there must be something I am doing wrong. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Jed
« Last Edit: January 17, 2016, 03:41:57 pm by jedbest »
Logged

Manoli

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2291
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2016, 04:00:33 pm »

Anyone have trouble with Opendirectly creating the subfolder but CO not opening that subfolder but defaulting to an untitled folder.

What version of C1 are you using ?
Just tried it again with both C1 closed (Lr invokes it) and already open - in both cases it works, defaulting to the correct sub directory - 'Capture One 9'
Logged

jed best

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 398
Re: Integrate Capture One within Lightroom
« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2016, 04:13:53 pm »

I am using version 9. I think I may have solved the issue. I think I had an import that was setup in C1 but not performed. Ran it through, deleted the folder and it now seems to work. I am going to retest again, later today. Thanks for the help.

Jed
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up