Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: yikes, i hit clear items in c1 8  (Read 1314 times)

sgwrx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 310
yikes, i hit clear items in c1 8
« on: December 24, 2015, 11:34:05 pm »

in c1 8, i clicked the drop-down list that shows catalogs right under the label "library", and accidentally selected "clear items".  i had 3 items labled "catalog: older_photos", "catalog: misc_photos" and "catalog: photos_2015".  i'm in a bit of a panic as i hope i didn't loose everything in "catalog: photos_2015"! the other two i'd like to end up deleting and adding again with more structure.

i do still have a file called "C1_Catalog_2015 Photos.cocatalogdb" and i backed it up when i last accessed it (two nights ago).

what should i do to restore, i've searched but haven't found any information on "clear items" or how to reopen a catalog.  i don't want to import everything into one master catalog as some of the c1 help files suggest, rather have it a separate catalog by year.

thanks,
Logged

Bob Rockefeller

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 548
  • macOS, iOS, OM Systems, Epson P800
    • Bob Rockefeller
Re: yikes, i hit clear items in c1 8
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2015, 06:18:44 am »

Are they gone from the disk, or can you find them again in File > Open Catalog...?
Logged
Bob Rockefeller
Midway, GA   www.bobrockefeller.com

sgwrx

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 310
Re: yikes, i hit clear items in c1 8
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2015, 11:32:41 am »

bob thank you!  my File menu simply says "Open".  I tried that and navigated to the catalogdb file and it worked.   yes, all my files and folder structure were still in tact i just didn't know how to access anymore since i had hit that "clear items" option.

now, after looking further in the File menu, i see there is an option of "open recent >" and "clear history".  so this tells me that the "clear items" in the drop-down list under the word "library" must be some type of history of catalogs that have been opened.  so "clear items" is the same as "clear history" and it's simply like a photoshop menu item that opens recent files.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up