Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Paper Recommendations for Epson R2400  (Read 3385 times)

glenerrolrd

Paper Recommendations for Epson R2400
« on: March 24, 2006, 08:30:38 am »

I am attempting to set up my digital workflow for an Epson R2400 and could use some perspective on papers to start with.   I have some experience with doing this last year for the Epson pro 4000 but we stuck pretty much to Epson Premium Luster paper as our standard.  I  have the Gretag Macbeth Eye-One Photo and have sucessfully made custom paper profiles .  My subject matter is quite varied from family, sports , wildlife , landscapes, travel etc.....not much studio work.  I plan to do do both B&W and Color probably about 50/50.   My standard paper size will probably be 13X19.  I have some of the new Crane Silver Rag on order .  I like the smooth finish and the heavy weight.  I expect that I will have to try a few combinations and that of course the "best paper" is  a personal choice.   Cost isn t a factor as I don t expect to be printing anything for commercial use.  Any insights would be appreciated.

Geoff Wittig

« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2006, 05:14:05 pm »

Paper surface is an artistic choice which ideally should serve the needs of the image. For what it's worth, I think black & white images are strongly dependent on a deep black d-max for impact. This limits you to Epson's photo black ink and compatible papers. I'm fond of Epson's premium luster paper, which yields a good dark d-max and has a slightly pebbled surface texture that works well at least with my photos. Premium glossy is a bit too smooth for my liking, with more evident bronzing. Crane's silver rag does sound intriguing.