Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Novice looking for budget colorimeter  (Read 18009 times)

Someguy22

Novice looking for budget colorimeter
« on: June 22, 2015, 11:59:41 am »

I work digital-only and am on a budget. My monitor is a Dell u2415. I'm beginning to take my work more seriously and am interested in finally getting a colorimeter, however I feel my education is lacking in making a proper decision. Do some not work so well with non-PWM panels? Should I avoid the datacolor models altogether?

I've narrowed it down to the colormunki display or the spyder5, as that is in my budget. I'm considering the spyder5 because it seems I could avoid the software limitations and simply use argyll, but I have no experience with that software. Any tips would be appreciated.

digitaldog

• Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: Novice looking for budget colorimeter
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2015, 12:03:30 pm »

Spyder 5 is pretty new, limited data from users. There is this set  of long posts if you want to bog through:
http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/55860109
http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author "Color Management for Photographers".

mouse

« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2015, 04:08:44 pm »

Color Munki Display (X-rite) works just fine with Argyll / dispcalGUI.

AlterEgo

« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2015, 05:02:26 pm »

Color Munki Display (X-rite) works just fine with Argyll / dispcalGUI.
but if one thinks to buy a nicer display later down the road this one might not will able to work with software that writes into H/W lut tables... crippled intentionally.

Simon Garrett

« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2015, 05:34:34 pm »

but if one thinks to buy a nicer display later down the road this one might not will able to work with software that writes into H/W lut tables... crippled intentionally.