Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Upgrade: So here is the question....  (Read 5103 times)

martin archer-shee

Upgrade: So here is the question....
« on: June 02, 2015, 07:54:53 pm »

I have been a photographer , of one sort or the other , for many years, through a Topcon R, various  OM's and finally via Sony R1 to my faithful Nikon D300. Now to change after 7-8 years? Do I want a "full size" (what ever that means..) full "35" frame digital like the D750 or how about the DX D7200 DX? Both are" 24Mmp". So what are the pluses and minuses other than actual sensor size and $$. The DX has better "reach" but at the cost of doing this on a smaller "site". A FX could do this same shot and then cut back on the frame???? So... given a given lens, say a theoretical 200mm at say f4.5 what are the arguments..?

Am I better to go with a DX and save money and still get a great shot but be expecting more problem with low light?  $$.? How about the FX, with the same "pixels (all be it larger). What if I shoot my DX and crop back to the equivalent DX.... where do I stand?

In short what are the gains/losses? Should I wait for the upcoming 50MP sensors... and then what?

I think there is no answer to this thread but would love to hear your views.

Meanwhile I am looking for a D750 (maybe).

Martin   ???

scooby70

Re: Upgrade: So here is the question....
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2015, 09:21:35 pm »

My view is that the first things to think about are what do you want to take pictures of, how are you going to do it and how you are going to look at the pictures.

If you want to take pictures of black cats chasing each other through the forest at midnight and produce exhibition quality prints 2m wide then you're going to need some cutting edge kit.