Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Scratch Disk Know How  (Read 10643 times)

Bill Meyer

Scratch Disk Know How
« on: January 19, 2006, 01:26:42 pm »

I've been using photoshop for a couple years now but have never paid too much attention to "scratch disks" and am hoping that someone can help me sort this out.

I am building a new computer system and I have several options for scratch disks, but because I don't know how much the disk used for a scratch disk affects performance I'd like to hear from those of you who do know. Here are my options -

These are the disks I currently have at my disposal -

1.  Western Digital 74GB Raptor SATA w/ 8MB Buffer

2.  Western Digital 320GB SATA II w/ 16MB Buffer

3.  Western Digital 320GB SATA II w/ 16MB Buffer

4.  Hitachi T7K250 160GB SATA II w/ 8MB Buffer

5.  Western Digital 80GB IDE w/ 8MB Buffer

Here was my original plan -

Raptor 74GB as primary (C:\) drive for OS/Software
Both WD 320GB for File storage in a RAID 1 mirrored (I need data backup & protection)
Use the Hitachi 160GB as emergency data backup of primary images - (this drive will be housed in a removeable tray)
Use WD 80GB IDE drive for scratch disk

By the way, I am getting a motherboard which can take advantage of the 3Gbs of the new SATA II spec. and also will have 2GB of RAM.

So is my thinking correct, or is the scratch disk of utmost importance requiring the fastest drive available for speedier Photoshop/RAW processing applications?

Would I be better off to partition my 320GB and use a partition for the scratch disk since it is faster than the 80GB IDE drive, or would the fact that it is a partitioned drive slow it down? Thank you for your thoughts.

Bill

Paul Sumi

Scratch Disk Know How
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2006, 02:30:58 pm »

I can't speak to the relative merits of your various HDs, but if you can dedicate an entire separate drive to the PS scratch disk, that will give you the best results.

Paul