Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: COMMERCIAL DAY RATES ???  (Read 13132 times)

elitegroup

COMMERCIAL DAY RATES ???
« on: May 19, 2008, 09:06:57 am »

As an emerging photographer I'm at the stage where I'm feeling my way around the negotiation table with potential clients.

In a previous issue of Capture (an Australian Pro-Photography Magazine) a standard industry commercial day rate was quoted/estimated at around $2700-$3600 a day plus expenses. (this was based on research from working photographers in the U.S. I believe)

After making my own queries (checking with local talent) here in Perth the rate is fairly dismal some where around the $2200-$2500 a day + expenses.

Mind you Perth is a small town most of the commercial/advertising campaigns are shot in Sydney & Melbourne  

I spoke with one of the directors at the acmp and he mentioned an interesting story of how 3 different photographers quoted $20,000 - $36,000 & $106,000 for the same 3 day job.

Guess who the client went with ??

That's right the $106,000 quote  

What I've gleaned from this is to ask/work with the proposed budget or quote higher than the going rate leaving room for negotiation with the client.

I also believe your quote will reflect your perceived value so not being afraid to be bold in your negotiations, of course taking into account your expenses, overheads, standard/quality of work etc.  

I know there are many other things I have not touched on in this brief summary but I'd love to hear from others what/how they factor their quotes for advertising, beauty & commercial campaigns

Graham Mitchell

COMMERCIAL DAY RATES ???
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2008, 09:23:18 am »

It depends so much on location/market that most people here won't be able to give you a useful answer. Example: here in Estonia a typical day rate (inc equipment and studio) is $300-500, and there are no licence fees.