Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Mamiya versus Contax 645 Digital  (Read 22100 times)

astanley

Mamiya versus Contax 645 Digital
« on: December 13, 2007, 01:52:47 pm »

I currently have a Contax 645 -- which I love -- but have found myself at a place where I must consider the future.

As I see it now, I have three options for my future.  These may seem self limiting to you, but they fit my budget / goals / desires:

+ Continue with my Contax 645, invest in a Phase One or Kodak back.
+ Continue with my Contax 645, invest in a X1 or X5 scanner (currently own a Nikon 9000 which is great for 35mm, not as much for MF and it can't do 4x5)
+ Move to a new MF system.  Mamiya is probably my main choice, as I've never enjoyed the Hasselblad line of cameras.

I'm a hyper pro-sumer, fine-art kinda guy.  I mix in a number of styles and do some for-fee work (weddings, things like that), and sell a print here or there.

I see the scanner or a digital back as interchangeable.  I could, argueably, afford both if I went Kodak, or if I was able to realize a certain percentage off selling the Contax and went with the $10k Mamiya digital combo.  But, the CFO may not like that as much  

Digital has been a steep learning curve for me, but I think I'm finally through the 5.13 portion of it -- especially with scanning.  

So... thoughts from the forum.  Stick with Contax, move to a system with more choices (Mamiya), or stick with film for now?  Note, one of the above paths will mean a ~4 year lock-in for me, which gives me pause with film.

Cheers,

-Andrew

Mike W

« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2007, 02:17:26 pm »

I'd go for a PhaseOne back. When your Contax breaks, Phase One can replace it; the have a new program where they sell discontinued camera's when needed.
Since Phase is also "in a relationship" with Mamiya, you're pretty secure the coming 4 years.

If necessary, buy a cheap second hand scanner, there's a sh*tload of 'em out there.

Anthony R