Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Compact Flash retirement?  (Read 4711 times)

Kirk Gittings

• http://www.KirkGittings.com
Compact Flash retirement?
« on: August 27, 2007, 02:54:46 pm »

Fortunately I have never had a CF card fail, but I am a professional and worry about it. I have many CF cards but one ScanDisk Extreme IV that I use routinely. It has had thousands of images run through it. Do you just use these till they fail or is there some logic to retiring them? What fails in these things?
Thanks,
Kirk Gittings

ARD

• http://
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2007, 04:41:08 pm »

Fortunately I have never had a CF card fail, but I am a professional and worry about it. I have many CF cards but one ScanDisk Extreme IV that I use routinely. It has had thousands of images run through it. Do you just use these till they fail or is there some logic to retiring them? What fails in these things?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=135816\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

As the card is steady state, the only part I can see breaking down is the chip. Extreme heat and cold can affect chips. As for life expectancy of a card it might be worth contacting the manufacturer, as with everything though, you could have one that lasts for a hundred photos, and another that lasts for a hundred thousand photos.

Best bet is to always carry plenty of cards and back up images regularly if possible.

aduke

« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2007, 08:10:18 pm »

I did a little surfing through manufacturer's web site. SanDisk didn't seem to have any information, but the Kingston site did.

In their "Tech Guide" for the Ultimate 266x card, they said that the card was rated for 10000 insertions. There was more information about the number of write cycles that the card will stand.

I would have included a URL to the document but they managed to hide it sufficiently that I couldn't get anything that seemed to be useful.

Roy

« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2007, 09:37:43 pm »