Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Canon 1Ds3 specs up !  (Read 33170 times)

wilburdl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 106
    • http://darnellwilburn.com
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #20 on: August 20, 2007, 12:32:39 AM »

Canon has put it up on their site so it's official:
http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controll...9&modelid=15710
Logged
Darnell
Editorial Photographer | Cartoonist
darnellwilburn.com

phila

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 292
    • www.philaphoto.com
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #21 on: August 20, 2007, 01:01:43 AM »

Quote
Canon has put it up on their site so it's official:
http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controll...9&modelid=15710
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Also:

[a href=\"http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/content_page.asp?cid=7-8742-9077]http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/content_p...cid=7-8742-9077[/url]

and

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0708/07082009...s1dsmarkiii.asp

And this (for what it's worth, as there is no attribution):

We've had some more direct comments (thanks) on the performance of 1Ds Mk3 models in the studio

"picture quality thrashes a P25 back and except in very bright lights is generally better than a P45 because of the low low noise and amazing colour/dynamic range.  There is phenomenal shadow and highlight detail in the raw files, photographers using the 1Ds3 are creating HDR 'looks' by processing the same RAW file 3 or 4 times to bring our different exposure"

http://www.northlight-images.co.uk/Canon_1DS_MkIII.html
« Last Edit: August 20, 2007, 01:33:28 AM by phila »
Logged

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9429
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #22 on: August 20, 2007, 02:08:33 AM »

They must be joking right...

How can it take them so long to come up with a relatively minor upgrade and not make it available until 2-3 months after the annoucement???

In the IT world, this is called a "paper launch".

Or could it be that an expected high key announcement from a competitor triggered their marketing nerves?

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged
A few images online here!

Ray

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9333
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #23 on: August 20, 2007, 02:23:56 AM »

Well, we are excited! At least 3 threads going simultaneously on this subject.

I wonder how the successor to the 5D is going to fit into the current range. I've forgotten what the time interval was between the release of the 1Ds2 and the 5D, but I haven't forgotten the many comments about how marginal the resolution difference was between the 12.8mp 5D and the 16.7mp 1Ds2.

If the successor to the 5D is going to be around 16mp, I might not be interested.

However, if I splash out on a 1Ds3 and 6 months later a 5DII also boasts 21mp at less than half the price, I might start blaming myself for a lack of patience.

I'm a bit disappointed the 1Ds3 does not have an ISO 6400 option like the 1D3. I suppose this is explained by the slightly smaller pixel pitch of the 1Ds3 (6.4 microns as opposed to 7.2).
Logged

phila

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 292
    • www.philaphoto.com
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #24 on: August 20, 2007, 02:39:37 AM »

Quote
Well, we are excited!
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134262\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Well I know I am!

I've had a standing order in for the 1Ds MkIII at a Canon Pro dealer since the beginning of the year and am No1 on the list. :-)

November is even a bit earlier than I was expecting (assuming that timing doesn't slip). I'm looking forward to putting my 1D MkII into semi-retirement - MotoGP's aside.

mcfoto

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 940
    • http://montalbetticampbell.com
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #25 on: August 20, 2007, 03:42:06 AM »

Logged
Denis Montalbetti
Montalbetti+Campbell
www.montalbetticampbell.com

Mark_Tucker

  • Guest
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #26 on: August 20, 2007, 09:58:09 AM »

From an advertising perspective, does anyone know how this camera will tether? If the "s" in 1DsII stands for studio, but the firewire cable had to be duct-taped to the body to keep it from falling out, does anyone know if tethering options are now improved with this new body?

Are there any new options for wireless transmission of the RAW files to a studio computer?

There seems to be mention of USB2 for tethering. Isn't that slower than Firewire?

Will those old "cropping masks" work in this new camera, to change the 24x36 proportion viewfinder? Is there any way to "tag" the files in DPP to auto-crop them from 24x36?

I am feeling like another poster here -- all this time, and where are the major improvements? Am I missing something?

MT, http://www.marktucker.com
Logged

Chris_Brown

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 893
  • Smile dammit!
    • Chris Brown Photography
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #27 on: August 20, 2007, 11:00:11 AM »

Quote
Canon has put it up on their site so it's official:
http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/controll...9&modelid=15710
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134249\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]
I'm disappointed in the USB feature. I shoot tethered most of the time and was hoping for FireWire800 to transfer the larger files. USB 2.0 supposedly has a transfer rate comparable to FW400, but in real world comparisons (5d vs. 1Ds2) the USB2 is slower than FW400.

As for features besides the 22MP, it's all under the hood: Digic 3 in parallel, highlight retention, upgraded autofocus. It doesn't seem as big of an improvement as the 1Ds2 was compared to the 1Ds1. Perhaps Canon was waiting for 1Ds2 sales to fully taper before bringing this camera to market.
Logged
~ CB

wilburdl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 106
    • http://darnellwilburn.com
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #28 on: August 20, 2007, 11:18:43 AM »

Quote
From an advertising perspective, does anyone know how this camera will tether? If the "s" in 1DsII stands for studio, but the firewire cable had to be duct-taped to the body to keep it from falling out, does anyone know if tethering options are now improved with this new body?

Are there any new options for wireless transmission of the RAW files to a studio computer?

There seems to be mention of USB2 for tethering. Isn't that slower than Firewire?

Will those old "cropping masks" work in this new camera, to change the 24x36 proportion viewfinder? Is there any way to "tag" the files in DPP to auto-crop them from 24x36?

I am feeling like another poster here -- all this time, and where are the major improvements? Am I missing something?

MT, http://www.marktucker.com
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I firmly believe that since it shares much of the same characteristics as the 1DIII that it too will be able to benefit from the new wireless transmitter:
[a href=\"http://robgalbraith.com/bins/multi_page.asp?cid=7-8738-8908-8948]http://robgalbraith.com/bins/multi_page.as...-8738-8908-8948[/url]

Aside from that, I thought this was a huge improvement. My biggest gripe with the 1DsII was the tonal gradation and now they've introduced 14bits. If they've spread out the AF points, that'd be another welcome addition. Another huge improvement would have to be ergonomics. I never saw the 2 button press as being that beneficial and they've finally ceded it. Ha.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2007, 11:22:16 AM by wilburdl »
Logged
Darnell
Editorial Photographer | Cartoonist
darnellwilburn.com

gehle

  • Guest
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #29 on: August 20, 2007, 11:34:07 AM »

Quote
From an advertising perspective, does anyone know how this camera will tether? If the "s" in 1DsII stands for studio, but the firewire cable had to be duct-taped to the body to keep it from falling out, does anyone know if tethering options are now improved with this new body?


I would say that even though we had the crappy firewire connection setup on the II, the tether option is now worse. Looks to me that it is USB like the 5D and that is limited to 16ft unless you drag around a battery powered hub. Either my tethered shooting days are over or I am now a wi-fi shooter (if the new wi-fi contraption works).  The return of the 6 pin might have been nice.

Quote
Are there any new options for wireless transmission of the RAW files to a studio computer?

They have a new wi-fi unit - still kind of big and awkward. Would have been nice if they just built the damn thing inside the body.

The III seems to be an evolution but only a small one, with small upgrades. Maybe the sensor will be a bit crisper than the II's?

But hey Mark, the viewfinder is said to be larger. That could be a plus making it worth the 8 grand  

Ken Gehle
Atlanta
Logged

DiaAzul

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 777
    • http://photo.tanzo.org/
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #30 on: August 20, 2007, 12:00:59 PM »

Quote
I would say that even though we had the crappy firewire connection setup on the II, the tether option is now worse. Looks to me that it is USB like the 5D and that is limited to 16ft unless you drag around a battery powered hub. Either my tethered shooting days are over or I am now a wi-fi shooter (if the new wi-fi contraption works).  The return of the 6 pin might have been nice.
They have a new wi-fi unit - still kind of big and awkward. Would have been nice if they just built the damn thing inside the body.

[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134332\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

The wireless unit that connects to the side support Wi-Fi and also standard Cat-5 Ethernet cabling - that latter should go 100ft and is cheaper than Firewire cables and should connect better with the body. As you point out it would be nice to have included this in the body itself, however, wireless technology is moving so fast that it may be more pragmatic to include it as an upgradable option.

Suggest you go for a MIMO Wireless-N access point/hub if you do decide to go wireless as this will give you better performance (work further from access point and also more reliable connections) than just a straight forward Wireless-G access point.

If you are working in a studio and have power to your lighting then you could always run Ethernet over the power lines and plug the camera (via the Wi-Fi adapter and Ethernet cable) into the power connectors. This would reduce cabling in the studio and provide fast reliable transmission.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2007, 12:04:38 PM by DiaAzul »
Logged
David Plummer    http://photo.tanzo.org/

Mark_Tucker

  • Guest
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #31 on: August 20, 2007, 12:46:02 PM »

Quote
The III seems to be an evolution but only a small one, with small upgrades. Maybe the sensor will be a bit crisper than the II's?

But hey Mark, the viewfinder is said to be larger. That could be a plus making it worth the 8 grand 

I'd say it's a very small evolution. I'd also say that they're not listening to "studio" photographers. At some point, Canon is just going to be Canon, and stick with that whole "35mm mindset". I guess that's their right. But it's laughable when they say that the "s" stands for "studio", and the tethering options are still so basic, especially after all the feedback they received.

I'll be sticking with Contax/Phase, thank you. You stick in the FW cable, and it's solid as a rock, and the tethering is effortless with CaptureOne, (unlike DPP).

I was just wishing for more, out of a supposed "pro/studio" solution.
Logged

gehle

  • Guest
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #32 on: August 20, 2007, 01:29:05 PM »

Quote
I was just wishing for more, out of a supposed "pro/studio" solution.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134343\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I hear you. I feel the same.

Instead of improving the problem areas I think they took a side road which is not very practical for the folks who are shooting advertising or even just plain commercial work.

I just finished a 12 location in 14 days in 8 states shoot and other than Delta not flying my gear on one of the trips (plane was over the weight limit and they elected to leave my gear on the tarmac) the biggest issue was loosing the camera connection due to the dinky 4 pin connection on the camera. Also, the most recent version of DPP seems a bit more flacky - we have to restart it 3-4 times for it to get it in the right folder - didn't have this before.

I love being able to shot my jobs tethered with the II but the III doesn't look like it will be better in any way. Maybe I am wrong but it is bad enough when you shoot some stuff and the camera says "busy" and you know those images are gone forever. Now we only have wi-fi and that really scares me. (Sorry, USB is not an option at 5 meters or using a hub to extend to a longer length).

Who were you listening to Canon?

Ken Gehle
Logged

Jack Flesher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2592
    • www.getdpi.com
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #33 on: August 20, 2007, 01:33:33 PM »

Quote
"picture quality thrashes a P25 back and except in very bright lights is generally better than a P45 because of the low low noise and amazing colour/dynamic range.  There is phenomenal shadow and highlight detail in the raw files, photographers using the 1Ds3 are creating HDR 'looks' by processing the same RAW file 3 or 4 times to bring our different exposure"


I can believe better than P25, but thrashes?  Also, I'll need to see "generally better than the P45" to believe it.

Skeptical in California,
Logged

RobertJ

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 655
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #34 on: August 20, 2007, 05:33:52 PM »

Just a note, a little OT, but:

Michael doesn't state that the new Canon 40D has weather proofing, which it does, on his news post about the new cameras.
Logged

madmanchan

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2110
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #35 on: August 20, 2007, 05:53:50 PM »

The 40D has weather proofing for the battery and CF storage locations only (different than the 1-series, wihch is more comprehensive). But sure it's welcome nonetheless.
Logged

BernardLanguillier

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9429
    • http://www.flickr.com/photos/bernardlanguillier/sets/
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #36 on: August 20, 2007, 06:43:40 PM »

Quote
And this (for what it's worth, as there is no attribution):

We've had some more direct comments (thanks) on the performance of 1Ds Mk3 models in the studio

"picture quality thrashes a P25 back and except in very bright lights is generally better than a P45 because of the low low noise and amazing colour/dynamic range.  There is phenomenal shadow and highlight detail in the raw files, photographers using the 1Ds3 are creating HDR 'looks' by processing the same RAW file 3 or 4 times to bring our different exposure"
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=134251\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I'd say the same if I were working for Canon marketing.

Cheers,
Bernard
Logged
A few images online here!

djgarcia

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 341
    • http://improbablystructuredlayers.net
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #37 on: August 20, 2007, 09:08:03 PM »

Yeah, rather than build huge conflicting, vindictive, mis-informed guess-threads, can we keep the discussions to what is really known or can be validated? Of course then the entertainment factor flies out the window .

I guess I must be a sucker - I see lots of nice improvements over my 1Ds2 I'll be happy to shell $8K for, which I need to start saving for, again. Most of my previous 1Ds3 stash recently went to a bunch of Contax N lenses with full-blown EOS conversion, as I got bored waiting. I for one am glad for the 3-month warning ...
Logged
Over-Equipped Snapshooter - EOS 1dsII & 1DsIII, Zeiss & Leica lenses
http://improbablystructuredlayers.net

ronno

  • Guest
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #38 on: August 21, 2007, 12:32:18 AM »

sorry, I started a new thread with the post I was going to put here...
« Last Edit: August 21, 2007, 12:42:08 AM by ronno »
Logged

Caracalla

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 156
    • http://
Canon 1Ds3 specs up !
« Reply #39 on: August 21, 2007, 01:54:13 AM »

Does current line of EF Lenses have enough of resolving power for the 22mp 1Ds Mk III, or we need new/third party lenses?

Regards
Caracalla
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Up