Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Equipment recommendations...  (Read 12955 times)

Bevan.Burns

• http://
Equipment recommendations...
« on: July 18, 2007, 03:31:07 am »

Hey all, a question for all the architecture pros here:

I'm a young student, extremely interested in the field of architectural photography. I was interested in what sorts of setups that you pros started out with. Eventually I want to be shooting with something like the Cambo WDS, or Alpa 12, with a high end MFDB, but that sort of gear is out of my price range now. Currently I have a modest Nikon setup (F100, D70s, 28-105 and 20, 35 and 50 primes) but would like to upgrade my setup over the next few years.

So what did you guys start out with? I assume I'm best off sticking with a film solution at first, but what's the best way to go to leave myself with a simple upgrade path to a digital workflow in the future? Should I look into getting a good pano head for stitching photos as an alternative to the high-res, wideangle solutions that the Cambo/Alpa provides? What do you all think?

I really appreciate the help!

Bevan

Morgan_Moore

• sammorganmoore.com
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2007, 03:47:31 am »

I would concentrate on stitching.

THe cheapest fastest way IMO is to use the 50 prime - handheld can work fine !

You should also consider the purchase of a 54 view camera with maybe a 65mm lens (cambo. sinar F etc) (you probably wont get infinity focues with a wider lens than this (with a DSLR) on the back (mug up on the rear focus to flange distances by getting deep into the schneider lense website PDFs (google)

You could shoot polaroids on that which would have a very cool look

You could also mash a lensboard and a lens back cap so you can stick your D70 on the back

check the D70 fires with no lense mounted !

Shoot 9 exposures by moving the rear standard around for p45 topping quality for around $500 US

FOTOMAN do cheap film rigs too but the market is flooded with bargain S/H film gear