Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canon 5D Dust  (Read 7723 times)

tandlh

Canon 5D Dust
« on: March 31, 2007, 04:47:15 pm »

I'm trying to decide on my next camera.  I've already got a collection of L lenses that will keep me happy for a while so Canon is my choice and lenses are not a limiting factor to which camera.  Michael's review of the 5D discussed the dust problem, but if I recall right he was reviewing a pre-production model.  I've seen some other posts that refer to excessive dust on the sensor.  I live in Arizona and shoot landscapes so dust is a major consideration.  My question is whether or not the dust problem on the sensor has continued into the newer production runs?  I'd like to hope they modified something to address it.  Any experience on dust in newer 5D's?

Thanks

Kirk Gittings

• http://www.KirkGittings.com
Canon 5D Dust
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2007, 07:48:42 pm »

I am a very busy professional working in the Southwest. I change lenses often on my 5D. I have yet to need to clean my sensor. Enough said?
Thanks,
Kirk Gittings

tandlh

Canon 5D Dust
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2007, 10:48:24 pm »

Thanks, sounds like enough said to me,

Ted

stever

Canon 5D Dust
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2007, 10:41:29 am »

there has been some discussion of 5Ds being "oily" from the factory

i had spots almost immediately that the artic butterfly wouldn't get rid of.  i used smear-away, and have used sensor cleaner a couple more times, over the first 500 or 1000 images, in the last 1000 images there seems to be no dust

this is similar to my second 20D, and i think it may not be unusual with new SLRs in general

Craig Arnold

• Craig Arnold's Photography
Canon 5D Dust
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2007, 02:48:57 am »

After all the hoohaa about dusty and oily 5Ds straight from the factory I was quite prepared to have to give my camera a thorough cleaning after I got it home.