Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Problem: hyperfocal distance or lens quality?  (Read 15602 times)

dbe4876

• http://dbe.smugmug.com/
Problem: hyperfocal distance or lens quality?
« on: March 18, 2007, 11:00:50 pm »

I am experimenting with using hyperfocal distance for landscape photography. This is my first attempt with hyperfocal distance so its likely the issues I'm encountering are due to me! But, when I look at these shots in their original size view, there are areas of both pictures that look undefined and fuzzy. If someone can help me zero in on what might be the cause I would very much appreciate the learning opportunity.

Equipment: I used a Canon 30D with Tamron SP AF17-50 f/2.8 Di-II lens, on a Ynatran pro tripod with an ATH-918 power grip ball head, cable release, polarizing filter, and Cokin P120 gradual ND filter. For the two shots below I set my camera to AE mode, chose an aperture of f/22, put the lens in manual focus mode and set the focus to 7 feet.

First shot, sunrise over the marsh...

(To see the original sized image, click to go to my smugmug gallery. Then, click the "O" at the top of the page for the original image)
*Mechanics: ISO 100, 23mm, f/22, 2.5s, Canon 30D, with Tamron 17-50mm SP AF Di-II lens
*I admit to a little post-processing warming in this shot as the sun had washed out the sky and the marsh was a bit too blue.

Now, the issue I'm wondering about is the fuzziness you see in the marshes. You will need to view the image in original size to see this. But, there are a lot of areas of the marsh that look just plain fuzzy and undefined.

Second shot, sunrise over the marsh with back to the sun...

(To see the original sized image, click to go to my smugmug gallery. Then, click the "O" at the top of the page for the original image)
*Mechanics: ISO 100, 23mm, f/22, .5s, Canon 30D, with Tamron 17-50mm SP AF Di-II lens