Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Printing Profile  (Read 7634 times)

jolson12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Printing Profile
« on: July 20, 2006, 06:44:20 AM »

Will the final version be able to use all my printing profiles?

Now it only shows a partial list. And all of those are the OEM profiles.


Jim.
Logged
[span style='color:green']Jim Olson[/span]

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Printing Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2006, 09:27:23 AM »

Quote
Will the final version be able to use all my printing profiles?

Now it only shows a partial list. And all of those are the OEM profiles.
Jim.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=71255\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]


Custom profiles are available on my copy.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

Raw shooter

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 205
Printing Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2006, 09:40:02 AM »

DigitalDog is correct - but you must awkwardly select the custom profile twice!
Where is says profile > Managed by printer. Click on the drop down list and select other.   Select the profile from your custom profile list (you can save time by checking all the custom profiles you plan on using) , then click OK.
It still says managed by printer. Now click 'other' and you will see all your profiles -and selecting one of then now works.
So selecting it twice is necessary only the first time.
Logged

jolson12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Printing Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2006, 11:02:53 AM »

Quote
DigitalDog is correct - but you must awkwardly select the custom profile twice!
Where is says profile > Managed by printer. Click on the drop down list and select other.   Select the profile from your custom profile list (you can save time by checking all the custom profiles you plan on using) , then click OK.
It still says managed by printer. Now click 'other' and you will see all your profiles -and selecting one of then now works.
So selecting it twice is necessary only the first time.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=71267\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

My problem is, the original list it shows is only the Epson profiles. My MOAB paper profiles and Ilford, do not show on the list.

Jim.
Logged
[span style='color:green']Jim Olson[/span]

David White

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 272
    • http://
Printing Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2006, 11:55:29 AM »

Quote
My problem is, the original list it shows is only the Epson profiles. My MOAB paper profiles and Ilford, do not show on the list.

Jim.
[{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I covered this in an [a href=\"http://luminous-landscape.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=11565]earlier post[/url] - you have to open the printer properties and under Color Management add the profiles.  They will then show up in LR.
Logged
David White

jolson12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Printing Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2006, 12:09:09 PM »

Quote
I covered this in an earlier post - you have to open the printer properties and under Color Management add the profiles.  They will then show up in LR.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=71279\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Thanks Dave for the quick reply. The issue is, when you open the printer properties and under Color Management add the profiles, the list they give you to choose from is the incomplete list only a partial of the profiles that are acually there.


Jim.
Logged
[span style='color:green']Jim Olson[/span]

David White

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 272
    • http://
Printing Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2006, 01:53:22 PM »

Quote
Thanks Dave for the quick reply. The issue is, when you open the printer properties and under Color Management add the profiles, the list they give you to choose from is the incomplete list only a partial of the profiles that are acually there.
Jim.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=71281\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Have you tried going into C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\color, right clicking on the profile(s) and selecting Install Profile if it shows up in the menu?  You could also try right clicking on the profiles and then Associate and add them to the printer that way.  Mine all show up when I add them under the printer properties Color Management tab so I suspect that yours may be present in the correct folder but have not actually  been installed into the system.
Logged
David White

jolson12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Printing Profile
« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2006, 02:06:02 PM »

Quote
Have you tried going into C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\color, right clicking on the profile(s) and selecting Install Profile if it shows up in the menu?  You could also try right clicking on the profiles and then Associate and add them to the printer that way.  Mine all show up when I add them under the printer properties Color Management tab so I suspect that yours may be present in the correct folder but have not actually  been installed into the system.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=71286\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

The thing that confusses me is that Photoshop has always listed all my profiles. Since they always listed in Photoshop, I never thought about it.
They work fine (all of them) and they are listed along with all the others (OEM).
Logged
[span style='color:green']Jim Olson[/span]

David White

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 272
    • http://
Printing Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2006, 02:18:22 PM »

Quote
The thing that confusses me is that Photoshop has always listed all my profiles. Since they always listed in Photoshop, I never thought about it.
They work fine (all of them) and they are listed along with all the others (OEM).
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=71287\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

I suspect that devices may handle profiles differently than applications.
Logged
David White

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12010
    • http://digitaldog.net/
Printing Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2006, 02:21:51 PM »

Quote
I suspect that devices may handle profiles differently than applications.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=71288\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Or just a bug in the Windows version (check the LR Forums). On the Mac, I can see and select any RGB output profile I can select in Photoshop.
Logged
Andrew Rodney
Author “Color Management for Photographers”
http://digitaldog.net/
I'm out of here.

jolson12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Printing Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2006, 02:32:01 PM »

Quote
Or just a bug in the Windows version (check the LR Forums). On the Mac, I can see and select any RGB output profile I can select in Photoshop.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=71289\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

You might be right about that bug.
The list available in LR is less than half of the Photoshop list.

Thanks for the help.
Logged
[span style='color:green']Jim Olson[/span]

David White

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 272
    • http://
Printing Profile
« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2006, 03:05:40 PM »

Quote
You might be right about that bug.
The list available in LR is less than half of the Photoshop list.

Thanks for the help.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=71290\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

All the ones I associated with my ipf5000 show up in Lightroom.  Did you make sure that they were installed and/or associated as I suggested before?
Logged
David White

jolson12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Printing Profile
« Reply #12 on: July 20, 2006, 06:05:13 PM »

Quote
All the ones I associated with my ipf5000 show up in Lightroom.  Did you make sure that they were installed and/or associated as I suggested before?
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=71295\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

David,
You are the greatest or I am an idiot. I did the right click, install and it worked perfectly.


Thanks a million.
Logged
[span style='color:green']Jim Olson[/span]

David White

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 272
    • http://
Printing Profile
« Reply #13 on: July 20, 2006, 06:35:56 PM »

Quote
David,
You are the greatest or I am an idiot. I did the right click, install and it worked perfectly.
Thanks a million.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=71317\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Jim,

Glad to hear that you finally got it working.

 I don't understand why Lightroom makes you do this when other Adobe applications are able to see all the profiles on the system without having to associate them with a particular printer.
Logged
David White

nrehme

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Printing Profile
« Reply #14 on: February 28, 2008, 11:20:28 PM »

Quote
Jim,

Glad to hear that you finally got it working.

 I don't understand why Lightroom makes you do this when other Adobe applications are able to see all the profiles on the system without having to associate them with a particular printer.
[a href=\"index.php?act=findpost&pid=71322\"][{POST_SNAPBACK}][/a]

Gentlemen, I've read this thread with interest because I can't make a LexJet profile show up in LR for printing. I installed the profile. I associated it as you instructed. I also went to color management and added the profile. It still doesn't show up. It also doesn't show up in the list of profiles for the printer when I look at it outside of LR. Suspect I still haven't done something right in Windows XP. So ideas are appreciated. I'm on the latest version and I realize this is an older thread.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up