Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Recommendations for a table matte cutter board  (Read 3902 times)

Bob_B

• It's all about light
    • Robert Belas Photography
Recommendations for a table matte cutter board
« on: August 16, 2015, 03:21:27 pm »

I'm still learning to cut matte board, and currently use a Logan matte knife and safety straightedge ruler. While this combo works fine for standard matte boards, I use quite a lot of gatorboard and find that this combo isn't doing the trick: the knife tends to like to wander a bit when cutting gatorboard. With hopes to get better, straighter cuts, I've been looking at table matte cutting boards, like the Logan 350 or 450 (http://www.cutting-mats.net/logan-mat-cutters.html). Unfortunately, I don't have space for a wall-mounted cutter, so any cutter has to be able to be used on a table. The largest prints I currently work with are 13x19", but I'm pretty sure I'll be moving to larger ones in the upcoming year.

I hope to get some suggestions for possible table matte cutters, with the extra caveat that any cutter should be able to handle gatorboard at 3/16" thickness.

Thanks for your help.

PS: This goes with another post of mine, http://forum.luminous-landscape.com/index.php?topic=103022.0, asking whether one should expect square corners from pre-cut gatorboard.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2015, 05:50:50 pm by Bob_B »
Robert Belas Photography
www.belasphoto.com

BillK

• http://
Re: Recommendations for a table matte cutter board
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2015, 11:31:11 pm »

The only Logan that I would recommend is the  850 platinum.
http://www.amazon.com/Logan-Platinum-Edge-Mat-Cutter/dp/B002SZMDS2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1439781724&sr=8-1&keywords=logan+850+mat+cutter

Never been too impressed with Logan's lesser models.

However it all depends on if you would use it enough to justify to cost.
If you are only doing a few mats now and then, probably not.

DeanChriss

• http://www.dmcphoto.com