Pages: 1 [2]   Go Down

Author Topic: RAW not yet supported  (Read 25901 times)

AlterEgo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1995
Re: RAW not yet supported
« Reply #20 on: February 06, 2015, 12:55:05 pm »

And that may be less than an accurate statement. Especially if the camera in question in Canon 5Ds.
so your assumption is that OP got a raw file and did not try Adobe converters available  ;) ? ... "nu nu" (c)
Logged

Iliah

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 770
Re: RAW not yet supported
« Reply #21 on: February 06, 2015, 12:57:04 pm »

Even Canon's? As Kirk points out, seems unlikely that a camera with the ability to shoot raw would come with no way of actually using the raw files."IF" indeed no converter supports it, no converter supports it. The key here is 'if' as far too little about the file in question has (or can be?) answered.

What I'm saying is - new Canon 5Ds[R] may be :) in fact supported by some converters. On the other hand, some cameras do not really came out, they just appeared - so those who received bootleg raw files may have no access to the necessary version of, say, DPP.
Logged

Iliah

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 770
Re: RAW not yet supported
« Reply #22 on: February 06, 2015, 12:57:38 pm »

so your assumption is that OP got a raw file and did not try Adobe converters available 

No, that is not my assumption.
Logged

AlterEgo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1995
Re: RAW not yet supported
« Reply #23 on: February 06, 2015, 12:58:16 pm »

As Kirk points out, seems unlikely that a camera with the ability to shoot raw would come with no way of actually using the raw files."

the question is whether he has the camera and bundled software or just the raw file ... so do ACR/LR open Canon raw files from 5Ds w/o changing camera's model inside ?
Logged

digitaldog

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20304
  • Andrew Rodney
    • http://www.digitaldog.net/
Re: RAW not yet supported
« Reply #24 on: February 06, 2015, 01:06:10 pm »

the question is whether he has the camera and bundled software or just the raw file ... so do ACR/LR open Canon raw files from 5Ds w/o changing camera's model inside ?
The OP states NO converter can open the raw file. So that pretty much ends the debate if true.

There's lots of questions and lots of assumptions. Why go there?

Maybe the issue is this is something other than a raw file. Maybe WWE RAW?  :o
Logged
http://www.digitaldog.net/
Author “Color Management for Photographers”.

AlterEgo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1995
Re: RAW not yet supported
« Reply #25 on: February 06, 2015, 01:10:45 pm »

So that pretty much ends the debate if true.
peace.
Logged

mouse

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 260
Re: RAW not yet supported
« Reply #26 on: February 06, 2015, 05:24:19 pm »

Can someone tell me if there is any chance to open a RAW not yet supported by any converter?
Thank you!

If taken literally, the simple answer to this question is: NO!

In light of the fact that the OP has declined to provide any additional information, I am amazed and amused by the amount of speculation and circular discussion contained in this thread. 
Logged

Lundberg02

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 379
Re: RAW not yet supported
« Reply #27 on: February 06, 2015, 05:34:43 pm »

All this sound and fury and the OP has never explained anything at all. Yet the forum beat it to death and it is destined for an unmarked grave.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]   Go Up