Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Scanning color negatives - best resolution?  (Read 25231 times)

PeterAit

• Peter Aitken Photographs
Scanning color negatives - best resolution?
« on: January 03, 2015, 11:02:07 am »

I am scanning some 35mm Kodacolor negs using an Epson V750. Is 1200 DPI a good scanner setting to use? I am trying to balance detail extraction with scanning speed. ANy other tips would be welcome - I am totally new to this.

Mark D Segal

• Contributor
    • http://www.markdsegal.com
Re: Scanning color negatives - best resolution?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2015, 11:06:46 am »

The resolution setting will not affect detail extraction unless you make it high enough that pixels are being invented (i.e. exceeds the CCD resolution of the scanner), or too low relative to the size of print you want to make. This question cannot be answered specifically without knowing what size you intend to print and what size is your media.
Mark D Segal (formerly MarkDS)
Author: "Scanning Workflows with SilverFast 8....."

PeterAit

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2015, 11:32:30 am »

The resolution setting will not affect detail extraction unless you make it high enough that pixels are being invented (i.e. exceeds the CCD resolution of the scanner), or too low relative to the size of print you want to make. This question cannot be answered specifically without knowing what size you intend to print and what size is your media.

I don't agree with what you say. If I scan at too low a resolution, won't there be detail in the negative that is not captured in the scan? I don't want to "invent pixels," of course, but I also don't want to leave real pixels behind!

The point is, if I scan at the scanner's highest optical resolution (not interpolated resolution), I will get all the detail but the scans will be slow and the files huge.

Mark D Segal

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2015, 11:38:10 am »