Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: need help deciding  (Read 2255 times)

willc73

need help deciding
« on: November 27, 2005, 06:10:28 pm »

I have read many of the reviews at luminous landscape and although I am going to demo several cameras next month I wanted to get opinions. I am a product photographer who shoots primarily in studio ( i know most people here shoot on location) . I have been renting digital backs for some time now and have used quite a few of them.
I have been considering purchasing either a h20 back or a h25 back for a while. The P backs don't interest me much because I have no interest in shooting untethered.
My dillema is should I save money and purchase the Canon 1 MarkII with a Cambo 35 and schneider lenses, or should I purchase an H25 and Cambo camera and schneider lenses. I will tell you the savings is very tempting and some reviews say it is indistinguishable.
Any thoughts are appreciated.

bill
www.bill-cahill.com

kevraber

need help deciding
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2005, 08:36:26 pm »

Bill

There is a difference.  In the end it may depend on where your work is being published and what size, but the detail in a file from an H25 is quite good.  I may be a Phase One employee and such, but there must be a reason so many top shooters pick the Phase One back, especially when they want to stand out.  Also, you may want o look at the P systems.  There are a number of them that dealers will have at good prices that have been loaners for people waiting for thier P30s and P45s.  I have both a Canon 1ds II and a Contax P25 and when I have shot side by side there is a difference.  The best way I can say it is micro-detail and dynamic range.  Let me know where you are located and I can make sure you get pointed to a dealer that will help you make the right choice.

BR

willc73

need help deciding
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2005, 09:46:37 pm »