Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Restore Old Faded Photos--Remember Digital ROC?  (Read 369 times)

Dave Gurtcheff

Restore Old Faded Photos--Remember Digital ROC?
« on: April 14, 2024, 05:03:31 pm »

An old friend posted an image on Facebook of himself with siblings and Dad and uncle. He is about 12 in the photo.  I graduated from high school 69 years ago and have not seen him since. The image was color but has faded badly and the color is screwed up (different color layers I assume fade faster that others). I would like to surprise him with a restored image. In the past, I purchased and used a wonderful program many years ago called "Digital ROC'" made by "Applied Science Fiction". A wonderful Gentleman in Germany that I purchased his own design and 3D printed Film Holders for my Nikon 8000  medium format film scanner, published a download for Digital Roc Plug in. I successfully down loaded it and also the Release Notes for it. The latest version of Photoshop it is listed to run with is CS3. I have original disks of Photoshop going back to version 3. I have 3.0, 3.04, 3.05 (for Windows 95), 5.0, 6.0 Upgrade, 7.0, CS, CS5 and CS6. I downloaded and installed ROC Plugin , but it does not show up in the "FILTERS" menu or CS3.  I could try installing an old version of Photoshop (probably CS) and then downloading and installing ROC again. My fear is that Photoshop CS may not install on Windows 10.

As a corollary, with all the hoopla about AI I would have thought someone would come up with an AI based photo restoration program. I do not want to individually color each person and object, I want something like ROC: One click and done. Any suggestions or warnings about installing a very old version of Photoshop, then installing a legacy program like ROC on it as a Plug In?

Or any suggestions for a modern program for restoring faded color photos, similar to ROC?

I am also going to post this on The Medium Format Forum...lots of very sharp folks over there.

Thanks