Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Epson 4900 Revived  (Read 1719 times)

holmherzer

Epson 4900 Revived
« on: February 28, 2014, 12:04:08 am »

My Epson 4900 is about 3 years old. I am a hobbyist so my printer doesn't get a lot of use. After struggling with a clog or drop out in the black channel that took a week of cleanings to fix, I started running a print head check every couple of days, and I would print a test print once a week.

I was getting ready to make some prints, and first ran a print head check, all was good. I had to change from PK to MK and when I did I completely lost the black channel. I tried multiple cleanings, and read everything I could find. I tried soaking the print head in the docking station, and the paper towel soak. I was nervous about Windex so I used print head cleaner I got from Inkjet Carts. Nothing changed.

I was told that if you lose a whole channel it is most likely the dampers. I bought the repair manual and found that on the 4900 the dampers are part of a assembly not sold separately. It also looked like something only and experienced repair tech should tackle. Well after a while with the printer sitting, I lost all ink flow out of the print head. With the printer this dead I had nothing to lose in taking it apart.