Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to take highlight,midtone and shaddow readings with Sekonic L-758  (Read 15859 times)

russellsnr

How to take highlight,midtone and shaddow readings with Sekonic L-758?
OK I do no how to do it nearly ;)
BUT!!!
When you spot meter for the midtones in landscapes from what I have read grass or green foliage is the best source and next maybe a grey road surface but when going for the green does it make a difference when it comes to the shade of green? i.e. Pine trees maybe a lighter or deeper green than grass. A little confused on this :-[
Many Thanks
Russ

stamper

One of the reasons I haven't bought one is outlined above. Whilst you are using one - or trying to - the light has changed and a bit of thinking has to be used whilst using it. I have been doing photography for 13 years and I get out a lot and the only time I have seen one of those things was in a camera club at a junk sale. However some swear by them take an "accurate" reading use it as a starting point in LR - or whatever - and then change the  "accurate" exposure to suit their aesthetic tastes. I think you can use jeans as a midtone in normal light as well as green grass and pavements. The colour of something isn't taken into consideration by the meter just how light or dark it is. Luminousity values are what you are looking.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2013, 04:04:54 am by stamper »

Tony Jay

Russ, without being a smartass here it might be helpful to explain exactly what you are trying to achieve with such extensive metering.
It will be easier to guide you with a bit more information.

Tony Jay

russellsnr

Hi, Thank you for the replies.
If you point a camera at a scene to take an exposure reading the camera does not really no what is and what is not the correct exposure over the whole scene, same as if you place an object in a scene when you point the camera it does not no that it is that object that needs correct exposure, I hope I am correct so far?