Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Photoshop - what stage to soft proof/when to edit for colour shift?  (Read 5470 times)

I Simonius

A complete novice here and with much trepidation have finally got round to trying to print colour
(using Ps CS4 + Imageprint 8, PPC Mac on 10.4.11, I shoot in RAW and open my images in 16 bit ProPhoto, into Photoshop, after basic adjustments in LR or ACR)

I have put the profile for my chosen paper (via Imageprint profile manager) into photoshop and chosen that under proof setup. I notice a dramatic color change: from orange/red to magenta in the strongly (orange/red) coloured area of the image

A version I saved to sRGB as a jpeg doesn't appear to shift colour (noticably) when I turn on soft proofing.

So what does this tell me and what should I do? Should I now re-edit the image so the softproofed (magenta) version looks as I wish, should I have done that right at the outset of opening the image instead of after hours of PP, is there something I'm missing?

thanks

[attached images are screengrabs]

I Simonius

nobody knows or perhaps is the question unclear?

Tony Jay

Hi,

It would be useful to tell us what printer and what paper you are using.
While many "canned" profiles are very good it is possible that this one is a lemon.
It is also possible that this paper is a 'cool' (opposite to 'warm') paper and perhaps responsible for the shift that you have observed.

However, all this is mere speculation without the facts.
You may also try downloading a profile directly from the paper manufacturer that corresponds to the printer that you are using and see what that gives you.

Tony Jay

I Simonius

Printer is Epson 3880 I am using imagepprint RIP and using imageprint's profiles, downloaded from their server specifically for the paper in question Ilford GFS

Tony Jay

Hi again.

If memory serves this particular manufacturers profile is not so good.
However it is probably better that those who use Ilford GFS regularly comment on this.