Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Stream 2.  (Read 833 times)

Sanggay

Stream 2.
« on: February 27, 2013, 03:50:03 am »

I posted this stream sometime back. I revisited this stream early in the morning today.
I shot at the same spot but from a different angle. This time I used a faster shutter speed at 1/2s.
On the 2nd shot I placed a leaf on the rock to make the foreground more interesting.
Any thoughts?

David Eckels

• It's just a camera.
    • Website
Re: Stream 2.
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2013, 06:39:42 pm »

Both work for me, though perhaps I like to framing of the first a little better. But let's see what the "pros" have to say; they've been teaching me a bunch.

rogerxnz

• Hayman Lawyers
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2013, 01:14:55 am »

I'm not a pro and I struggle with this kind of subject matter all the time!

You come across something that attracts you and you want to make an image but so often it is a scene like this with interesting elements but unless you can capture the objects in some kind of pleasing order or arrangement or you focus on a definite object of interest, you will not get a memorable image. I think great photos of this kind of scene require the photographer to make some kind of order out of the disparate elements in the scene. Adding a leaf just adds another item to the chaos you are trying to work with.

The leaf is particularly unwelcome, in my opinion, because it has introduced specular highlights which are distracting, especially as you managed the exposure of the running water to avoid those distractions.