Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: H0w to examine the digiback when purchasing a second hand product?  (Read 4337 times)

parkn123

Dear experience digiback users,
  Since I am new to digiback, would you like to give some advices any checkings when purchasing a second hand digiback ?
  Many many thanks.

Wilbur

Gel

Re: H0w to examine the digiback when purchasing a second hand product?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2013, 09:17:41 am »

Check the focus is accurate on your back.

Check the IR filter is scratch free from idiotic cleaning techniques (more tricky)

Shot 50 frames in fast succession (preferably with studio light)

There's other things I'm sure but look at the back in general. Knocks, dings, signs of impact may not effect the back now but could well do over time.

parkn123

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2013, 09:38:19 am »

Check the focus is accurate on your back.

Check the IR filter is scratch free from idiotic cleaning techniques (more tricky)

How ??

Shot 50 frames in fast succession (preferably with studio light)

WHat is the purpose of doing this??

There's other things I'm sure but look at the back in general. Knocks, dings, signs of impact may not effect the back now but could well do over time.

Gel

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2013, 10:28:11 am »

Magnifying glass and holding the back at an an angle in daylight

50 shots in quick succession will test the back for lockups and consistency in the image I had an 80mm lens that locked up every 6,7 or 8th shot.
I also had a back that randomly had image corruption, always with flash though.

Big expensive items require more diligent testing.

I had a 100mm HC lens I bought secondhand, after only shooting 170+ frames did it need £1200 worth of repairs. I could replace the whole lens for that.

I am speaking from experience, I had a leaf back that needed sending to Israel for a £700 calibrate because it was out enough to cause severe front focusing.

Ken Doo

• Carmel Fine Art Printing & Reproduction