Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Fuji GX180 vs 4 x 5 with a roll film back  (Read 5725 times)

grilla

• http://thecolorblindphotographer.net
Fuji GX180 vs 4 x 5 with a roll film back
« on: October 12, 2012, 08:56:25 pm »

I have desire to go back to shooting 6 x 7 or 6 x 9 film after a 8 year stint with digital. I used a Fuji 6 x 9 rangefinder for years and loved it, and even tried 4 x 5 with a brief stint in a workshop with plenty of help. I am torn between two cameras and would like your opinion. The Fuji GX680 gives me medium format with some tilts and swings, and a 4 x 5 with a roll film back gives me even more latitude. It amazes me how inexpensive either setup has become. I am a landscape photographer (www.thecolorblindphotographer.com) that enjoys taking my time and never photographs sporting events, people, or anything else that moves unless it is caused by the wind. How difficult is it to use a 4 x 5 with a roll film back? If you are using either setup or have a recommendation please let me know.

DanielStone

Re: Fuji GX180 vs 4 x 5 with a roll film back
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2012, 09:27:20 pm »

IMO, both options can offer a lot.

If you want to shoot 6x9,, you'll need a 4x5 with a rollfilm back or as you've already mentioned, a Fuji rangefinder camera.
Depending on type of 4x5 camera to be chosen, some can be folded down to be smaller and lighter than the GX680 system.

I'd also consider just shooting 4x5 sheet film, simply because you can have a larger negative/chrome to work from.

That is, unless your chosen emulsion film-wise isn't available in sheet form...

Dan
« Last Edit: October 12, 2012, 09:28:52 pm by DanielStone »

HarperPhotos

• http://www.harperphoto.com
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2012, 09:32:47 pm »

Hello,