Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Macro Lens for MFD and technical cameras  (Read 2450 times)

felix5616

Macro Lens for MFD and technical cameras
« on: December 04, 2011, 04:14:48 pm »

What macro lenses are available for medium format backs and technical cameras?

nazdravanul

• Stefan Iacob - visual artist
Re: Macro Lens for MFD and technical cameras
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2011, 05:16:54 am »

There are 2 main options : the 120mm Macro lenses from Schneider and Rodenstock, both optimized for digital, to various degrees (can't elaborate on that as a I have no direct experience with them), both 5.6, main difference being the image circle - 110mm for Schneider, 150mm for Rodenstock. I would also love to hear from users who have direct experience with both lenses, on high-density pixel digital backs (6u and 5.2u micron size ... ) , with extreme movements all the way to the borders of the IC !
« Last Edit: December 07, 2011, 07:04:06 am by nazdravanul »

Brian Hirschfeld

• Brian Hirschfeld Photography
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2011, 12:05:25 pm »

I think the above reply mostly answered your question, not exactly sure what your asking if its for a tech cam with a back mounted on it or if its an either or question.....

Hasselblad makes a 120mm Macro AF lens (which is superior)

PhaseOne / Mamiya / Leaf has two, the 120mm Macro f/4 D (MANUAL FOCUS) and a 120mm Macro f/4 AF which I suspect to be very good

Contax also had a 120mm f4 AF (Ziess designed) which I'm pretty sure the Hass and Phase versions are copies of

Leica and Pentax also have macro solutions....

but I think the other answer answers your question better.
www.brianhirschfeldphotography.com / www.flickr.com/brianhirschfeldphotography
---------------------------------------------------------------
Leica / Nikon / Hasselblad / Mamiya ~ Proud IQ180 owner

EricWHiss

• Rolleiflex USA
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2011, 11:12:19 pm »