Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Anyone Install Imageprint 6 on Windows 7 Pro?  (Read 1972 times)

JohnAONeill

• http://www.johnanthonyoneill.com
Anyone Install Imageprint 6 on Windows 7 Pro?
« on: October 26, 2011, 08:38:04 am »

I have been using Imageprint v 6 for many years on an XP machine. Recently I upgraded the OS to Windows 7 Professional. I Managed to install Imageprint and have set the applications to XP with service pack 2 in the windows compatibility utility. Everything seems ok until I go to licence the Printer (Epson 9800) I can see the dongle number appear but when I enter the ecryption key I get an error message "unable to authorize file".

Just windering if anyone here has managed to get IP6 running on W7? Any tips please?

Thanks
John

neile

• http://www.danecreekfolios.com
Re: Anyone Install Imageprint 6 on Windows 7 Pro?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2011, 10:51:05 am »

John,

While I don't own imageprint, problems like this are often because the application is trying to write somewhere protected and isn't run elevated (even though I think compat mode should help with that). Try right clicking on ImagePrint, selecting Run as Administrator, and then go through the license process.

Neil
Neil Enns
Dane Creek Folio Covers. Limited edition Tuscan Sun and Citron covers are now in stock!

buckshot

« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2011, 11:03:48 am »

I've been down this route with IP6 and Vista. I did get it to work, but after one of (many) Microsoft updates it stopped for some reason. From memory, the problem always seemed to relate to the drivers necessary to run the dongle. The only long term solution (which I still use) was to install a virtual copy of Windows XP via VMWare and then run IP from there - works perfectly, though a small PITA having to boot up XP every time I want to print.

JohnAONeill

« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2011, 04:31:33 pm »