Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Suggestions on how to speed up a 9900?  (Read 2982 times)

JillHK

Suggestions on how to speed up a 9900?
« on: October 17, 2011, 11:12:07 pm »

Hi Newbie  question.

just got a Epson 9900. I'm using a MacBook Pro 10.6.8 2.66 GHz Core i7 with 8 GB memory. I'm using CS5 to print from running across a network. Printing is very very slow. For example I had a 350 meg file 36" x 44 inch print on canvas and it took 12 hours. I must be doing something wrong?

Not sure if this would help or even if it is possible but I have an old G5 with 4 Gigs of ram and I'm pondering using it as a print server.

What can you suggest to speed up the system.?  ???

I'm pretty new to printing large. I'm an artist so I do not need a lot of speed.

thanks!
- - - - -

JillHK

abiggs

• http://www.andybiggs.com
Re: Suggestions on how to speed up a 9900?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2011, 11:23:24 pm »

Jill, 12 hours is pretty crazy. How long did it take from the time you clicked 'print' until you saw the print head starting to do its job?
Andy Biggs
[url=http://www.andybiggs.com

Wayne Fox

• waynefox.com
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2011, 02:40:32 am »

Either you've wiped out ram and your Mac is slamming virtual memory (you can use activity monitor to check that) but I'd be checking your network ... sounds like you might have a serious problem (bad cables, bad router, bad access point, some device is out of control wiping out bandwidth)

the computer itself has plenty of power, using the old computer as a "server" probably won't help much if at all.

na goodman

« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2011, 09:12:30 am »

I agree, it sounds like a network problem. The computer specs are fine.

JillHK

« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2011, 03:14:00 pm »

Ok, I'll check into the suggestions given to me here and I'll post with more info and let you know what i found out.

thanks!
- - - - -

JillHK

JohnHeerema

• Dr. John Heerema
    • http://www.heerema.ca