Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canon ipf 8100 Problems  (Read 4550 times)

Mike Sellers

• Mike Sellers Photography
Canon ipf 8100 Problems
« on: October 12, 2013, 02:32:18 pm »

My lightly used 8100 just called for a left printhead replacement. I just replaced it last year! Is it common with Canon printers to have to replace printheads so often? I have printed about two 44 inch rolls and one 36 inch roll plus about 50 8x10`s in this time.  I made a 30x40 on canvas about a week ago and I leave it turned on all the time so there shouldn`t be a problem with the heads drying out? Is the Epson 9900 a high maintenance printer? I`m ready to switch brands!
Mike

MHMG

Re: Canon ipf 8100 Problems
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2013, 10:08:07 am »

I also have an iPF 8100 as well as an 8300, both getting relatively light use since I'm an individual photographer/printmaker not a print shop. Had no need for the 8300 but got it on one of those Canon USA rebates + free ipad deals from Lexjet that brought the price down to about the replacement cost of the new set of inks which comes with each iPF printer. My 8100 lost a printhead a little after one year, but Canon USA replaced free of charge. The phone support guy said the original heads had been redesigned. They are now identical to the 8300. My 8300 also had a head go bad after about a year and a half. Canon didn't offer a free head on that situation, but next the new replacement head died within one year after that, and Canon does replace any head that goes bad before one year. So, you might want to call Canon and see if your second bad head can be replaced at no charge.