Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Need some Input  (Read 2026 times)

Rainer SLP

• RS-Fotografia
Need some Input
« on: December 12, 2002, 09:33:30 pm »

[font color=\'#000000\']Hi,

As a student I bought my first camera and this was a Canon AE-1 because of my limited budget.

This camera convinced me because it was the first camera with fixed speed and the camera choose the right aperture for It. I learned to photograph with speed. Landscape on tripod low speed gives closed aperture = nice depth of field.
High speed gave open aperture = nice for moving objects.

Then I bought some FD lenses and so on and suddenly I had EOS A2e in my hands and did not think about any other brand. Well yes Nikon but price comparisons of the gear told me that I got the Canon cheaper and always some money was left for some additional gadget.

Sure after having the Canon gear I also took a look on Nikon and Leica, but with Nikon I always had the problem of understanding all those functions and Leica is laying in your hand like a Brick.

The Canon Bodies also have a huge quantity of functions but somehow I have managed to learn them intuitively. Good Menu, Few buttons to press, etc. Then I read the instruction manual.

Now I own 3 EOS, 1V, 1n RS and 1n and several L lenses, more and more changing all my lenses to IS and so on.

I do not doubt that if I as a student had bought a Nikon it would have been the same history. Then I surely would be a Nikon guy now.

Well that is why I use Canon. Somehow Canon gives me the impression of being a more risky company by introducing new technologies ahead of other companies.[/font]
Thanks and regards Rainer
 I am here for

Pete

Need some Input
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2002, 06:32:58 am »

[font color=\'#000000\']Hi Dixon,