Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: LR 3 and layered images  (Read 1780 times)

Kirk Gittings

• http://www.KirkGittings.com
LR 3 and layered images
« on: August 20, 2010, 06:52:34 pm »

So I'm still new to Lightroom, and I am doing something goofy. I imported some older layered files. In LR they appear unlayered at 49 MB and when I go to edit them in PS they open as a flattened 264 MB image. In Bridge I see them (in the same location same name) as layered 1.41GB files and they open from Bridge as 1.41GB layered files.

What am I doing wrong on import or what am I not understanding?
« Last Edit: August 20, 2010, 06:55:08 pm by kirk@swcp.com »
Thanks,
Kirk Gittings

CatOne

• http://blloyd.smugmug.com
Re: LR 3 and layered images
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2010, 08:16:43 pm »

I doubt that Lightroom can operate properly on the layered files, as it doesn't understand layers.  It's likely that it operates on the flattened base layer, which is generated when you tell Photoshop to save files as "maximize compatibility."

If you send a file from LR to Photoshop and then make extensive tweaks and edits in PS, you really shouldn't make any further edits in LR on that specific version unless you want to flatten it.

zobeleye

• zobeleye
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2010, 02:50:37 am »

hi guys,
in my experience and there have been a few serious mistakes made by me in that topic, it all depends on that little dialog that pops up, when you press <command/E> which is the shortcut for opening an image in PS out of LR.
first option flattens the layers and if you save this in PS, all layers are gone. flat.
but LR adjustments will be there.
second option gives you your layers but no LR adjustments.but if you save or flatten this one, you'll still have the original layered file in LR.
third brings your layers back in PS but again no LR adjustments.