Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Silverfast AI Studio  (Read 2765 times)

PeterHruby

Silverfast AI Studio
« on: July 22, 2010, 01:23:19 pm »

I'm fairly new in digital printing, mainly because I scored a good deal on Epson 7880. I do mostly analog but that's another story. I red lots of threads but I couldn't find how to set up Silverfast color management section for calibration.

I tried several options but none of them worked (one worked but I turned off monitor ICC profile as well).

I set the color management as follows:

CMS/Color management:
Scanner > Internal: None;
Internal > Monitor:  NEC P221W custom Profile;
Internal > Output:   RGB.

Profiles for ColorSync
Scanner (Reflective):    Default ICC (dimmed)
Scanner (Transparent): <None>
Internal:                      ProPhoto
Gray:                          None
Output/Printer:             <None> (dimmed)
Rendering Intent:         Perceptual

Embedded Profile:
Embed ICC profile: Checked
Profile to Embed:    ProPhoto

I did a IT8 scan and evaluated in Monaco since I have Monaco EZcolor Calibration package. All went well, obtained ICC profile. Opened the Silverfast and then changed Scanner > Internal: New Epson 4990 profile. Other options remained the same. Scanned the IT8 Profile again and... went greeninsh. However, if I change Internal > Monitor option to <none>, looks very good, nicely satuared, curves fantastic, greys are neutral.

Question one: Are my settings and calibration process correct? If not can you point me to proper set up?
Question two: If set up is correct, do I keep color management for monitor turned off or it must be turned on?

Thanks for the advice.
Peter

BobFisher

Silverfast AI Studio
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2010, 02:57:26 pm »

If you've got the text file that supports the target you're using, you can use Silverfast to profile your scanner too.