Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Judging Brackets from Digital Capture  (Read 2724 times)

markgoble

Judging Brackets from Digital Capture
« on: May 18, 2010, 11:43:13 am »

Hello,

I have been reading posts and articles on the subject of ETTR and Histograms. I am new to digital capture and post process, and i have a few questions about Judging my Bracketed exposures with digital capture.

I shoot  Raw, and my questions are.

1. Where in the Capture and post process do you evaluate your bracketed exposures to pick the best exposure? ( is it on the LCD of your camera or in the raw converter)

2. Is it correct to say that the Histogram on the LCD is of the Jpeg on the LCD? ( if this is correct is the histogram correct enough to base my continued bracked sequence, because i am reading that you can review the histogram on the LCD to make decisions about your exposures, and again i'm shooting Raw )

3. Does the raw converter show a raw histogram?

4. Is it correct to say...... I should pick the exposure from the Bracket that is farthest to the right without clipping, and that this is my best exp. to work on in post?

5. Does a situation exist that you should not choose the exp. in the above question?

Thank you for your time and comments,

Mark

wolfnowl

• M&M's Musings
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2010, 01:12:53 pm »

1. Where in the Capture and post process do you evaluate your bracketed exposures to pick the best exposure? ( is it on the LCD of your camera or in the raw converter)

Both, initially.  Depending on your camera you'll get to know what looks good on the LCD and how this translates to an image opened up in your RAW converter.  You may find clipping varies depending on colour, for example.